The NBA has announced that 2011-2012 All-Defensive team. Tyson Chandler, the ’11-12 Defensive Player of the Year, did not earn First Team honors. (If this confuses you, you’re not the only one.) Via a release from the NBA: “Miami Heat forward LeBron James, winner of the 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award, headlines the NBA All-Defensive First Team, the NBA announced today.James totaled 53 points overall, including 24 First Team votes. He was the lone player to top 50 points.Joining James on the NBA All-Defensive First Team are forward Serge Ibaka of the Oklahoma City Thunder (47 points), guards Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers (35 points) and Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies (33 points), and center Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic (41 points). Ibaka and Allen earn First Team honors for the first time; Allen was an NBA All-Defensive Second Team selection last season.”Here’s the full breakdown of the first and second teams:

2011-12 NBA All-Defensive First Team
PositionPlayer (Team)1st2ndPoints
ForwardLeBron James (Heat)24553
ForwardSerge Ibaka (Thunder)20747
CenterDwight Howard (Magic)16941
GuardChris Paul (Clippers)13935
GuardTony Allen (Grizzlies)13733
2011-12 NBA All-Defensive Second Team
PositionPlayer (Team)1st2ndPoints
ForwardKevin Garnett (Celtics)81026
ForwardLuol Deng (Bulls)6820
CenterTyson Chandler (Knicks)131036
GuardRajon Rondo (Celtics)91129
GuardKobe Bryant (Lakers)7317