Wednesday, January 4th, 2012 at 5:18 pm  |  11 responses

2012 Bob Cousy Award 20 Finalists Announced

From our friends at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Springfield, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today the 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball. An original list of 60-plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to the below list of 20 student-athletes.

“This list of 20 candidates consists of college basketball’s elite point guards,” said John L. Doleva, President & CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.  “Through the first few months of the season, these floor generals have demonstrated incredible leadership, court vision and toughness that epitomizes the legacy of Mr. Cousy.”

“The talent level among our 20 finalists demonstrates the competitiveness at the point guard position in college basketball this year,” said Ken Kauffman, Chair of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award.  “As we move through the next rounds to our final award-winner, it will clearly be a difficult decision to select one player from this elite group.”

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. This Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 2nd in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year’s recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut).  For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.

2012 Bob Cousy Award 20 Finalists
Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Shabazz Napier, UConn
Ray McCallum, Detroit
Seth Curry, Duke
Erving Walker, Florida
Scott Machado, Iona
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Peyton Siva, Louisville
Trey Burke, Michigan
Dee Bost, Mississippi State
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Zack Rosen, Pennsylvania
Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh
Scoop Jardine, Syracuse
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin
Tu Holloway, Xavier

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , , , , , ,

  • SW

    How did Marquis Teague not make the list???

  • china

    I got my money on Pierre Jackson. Baylor is the only team besides Syracuse who is undefeated and are in top 5 contention.
    They always have rallied down the stretch in close games through the leadership of him and Brady Heslip. I hope this guy gets it, top JUCO P.O.Y last year now this? Wow, hard work pays off.

  • logues

    tu holloway

  • http://www.slamonline.com Chubachuchi

    My guy Peyton Siva getting some love.

  • SikhWitIt

    Peyton Siva is badass, another great guard out the 206!

  • seattleboy

    PEPE sivaaaaaaaa out of seattle hope he goes to a team that will give him playing time in the nba

  • http://hibachi20.blogspot.com Moose


  • Heals

    They will also be awarding coolest name; your finalists are Shabazz Napier, Casper Ware and Scoop Jardine…

  • http://www.kb24.com The Seed

    Kendall Marshall should win this, if he scores a little bit more also, watch out for Casper Ware and Erving Walker. BOOK IT!!


    Ooh. This is a tough one. There are so many good ones, but I think I have to narrow it down to Kendall Marshall (his court vision is freaking phenomenal) and Aaron Craft (my man is crafty in helping the Buckeyes stay abreast, ignoring the losses to Indiana and Kansas, of course.) But Siva is really the man over there in Louisville. This is such a tough call.

    p.s. @SW: I’m a huge Kentucky fan but if Teague could cut down on the turnovers maybe he would be on this list. He still put in work though!!lol.

  • http://Slam dennis johnston

    A poor representation of “true point guards”; many of these guys are scorers not true point guards. Aston GIbbs is certainly not a point guard and has played the position only a few games after their point guard was injured. TJ McConnell must be on any list of the top 20 point guaurds; ask someone who actually understands the game of basketball!