Thursday, January 5th, 2012 at 10:54 am  |  7 responses

Kicks: Nike Year Of The Dragon Collection

Celebrating the New Year with AF1, Jordan ’12, Kobe VII and KD IV.

For more than a decade, Nike has been releasing a Year of the Dragon pack, and this year, it includes four sneaker models—the Air Force 1 Low Supreme, Air Jordan 2012, Nike Kobe VII System and Nike Zoom KD IV—and the Nike Destroyer Jacket, which you can pick up in limited edition packaging with the AF1, or on its own. Nike chose four sneakers to reflect the importance of the number four in Chinese culture; it represents the belief that dragons rise out of four seas, and brings good fortune in the New Year. That, and style.

(H/T: High Snobiety)

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , , , ,

  • http://redoftoothandclaw.ca/ niQ

    Those new Jordan just don’t cut it. Really.

  • Remy

    You forgot the lebron 9 YOTDs.

  • D

    Hello the Chinese dislike the number four. The number four has athe same sound as death or dead. If you go to any casino and look at the baccarat tables the number four is missing. The lucky number for Chinese is eight. Do better research.

  • Morgan

    4 is a very unlucky number for chinese, its number for death, and 24 is easy death.
    But luckily you forgot the lebron 9. Xie xie

  • http://www.slamonline.com J

    those are the air jordan’s 2012!? I’ll wait for other CW’s but wow i’m disappointed.

  • http://www.twitter.com/_dfrance dfrance21

    What exactly are are the YOTD colors because the Kobe’s have a completely different color scheme.

  • YOLO

    I like the jackets, might buy em