Quantcast
Tuesday, March 19th, 2013 at 10:05 am  |  35 responses

Refs Rob Chicago Bulls of Win on Interference Call (VIDEO)

Joakim Noah came out of nowhere to tip in what should have been the game-winning bucket in overtime, but after a review, the referees incorrectly waived it off. Tom Thibodeau and his players, as you might imagine, were furious with the call. Per the Chicago Tribune: “After two tough calls that sealed Monday night’s emotional 119-118 overtime loss to the Nuggets, the Bulls will make one more on Tuesday. ‘I guess we have to call the league to get an interpretation,’ an angry coach Tom Thibodeau said. The dispute centered on two calls in the final 46.4 seconds, both of which went against the Bulls. First, officials allowed Kosta Koufos’ tip-in of Ty Lawson’s miss, giving the Nuggets a 116-115 lead. The Bulls screamed for offensive interference, but since no call was made, officials told Thibodeau — correctly — they couldn’t use video review. Then, after Joakim Noah tipped in Nate Robinson’s miss to put the Bulls ahead and Andre Iguodala buried a dagger 3-pointer with 7.1 seconds left, the real nuttiness started. In an amazingly athletic and acrobatic play, Noah tipped home Marco Belinelli’s miss with 1.7 seconds left, setting off a wild celebration. But officials used video review to uphold what they called as offensive interference. By rule, Noah’s tip-in appeared to be called correctly since players can’t interfere with shots on a downward trajectory that have a chance to hit the rim. The crux of the Bulls’ biggest beef is this: Thibodeau, Noah and several players claimed no goaltending call came in real time, meaning, like the Koufos play, no video review should’ve been allowed. A pool reporter interviewed crew chief Ken Mauer, but Mauer took only one question and it didn’t address this controversy. ‘They went to the timeout and then they decided they were going to review,’ Thibodeau said. ‘I didn’t see them call it. And I watched on the replay and didn’t see it called there.’ Noah, using two expletives, said officials called ‘basket’ on the floor. ‘It’s very disappointing,’ Noah said. ‘You play the game so hard. I just don’t understand how you can review my tip-in, but two plays before that, you can’t review the other one? There has to be consistency. The refs are doing the best they can. But it cost us the game.’”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , , , ,

  • speedy

    If you look at it objectively Koufos tipped the ball after it went out of the cylinder by a hair and Noah obviously made an offensive interference by tipping a shot that went downwards. The only thing that the refs did wrong was that they hesitated to call Noah’s obvious goaltending in the moment it happened.
    So the refs didn’t cost the bulls a game but played with their feelings a lot.

  • Redd

    This was just bull, that was our game.

  • http://www.facebook.com/rainman1991 Saleem Rainman

    I thought that was a pretty obvious call… It shouldnt have taken the refs long at all to call it , as a result getting the Bulls hopes up. But it was obvious

  • Mike Mihalow

    Nice biased title there. The ball was obviously going to hit the rim. The refs (eventually) made the right call. Not sure how that considers the Bulls getting “robbed”. Had they counted it, then the Nuggets would have been robbed.

  • Jay cutler

    Slam journalism misleading again.

  • Ugh

    Wait – the refs can’t review a non-call?!
    Wow, that’s not leaving reviews prey to match fixing at all.

  • http://twitter.com/_DFrance DFrance

    They got robbed in the sense that the refs are not supposed to review a play where no call was made. But it was clearly a goaltend so they really shouldn’t be that mad.

  • Redd

    No he goaltended as well lol.

  • http://www.facebook.com/devin.williams1 Devin Williams

    Come on refs give us that home call, the damn cHeat get every call smdh

  • spit hot fiyah

    koufos was clearly goaltending, you are right in that they messed up in not making a call on the floor with noah’s goaltend

  • spit hot fiyah

    the missed call on koufus was pretty bad, that looked like goal tending all the way in real time. Noah definetly interfered, but if it’s true that by rule they can’t enforce a goaltend call after review if they didn’t call it on the floor, then the refs really messed that one up.

  • Redd

    Yeah Noah goaltended as well. Still think that affected the winning but mistakes happen.

    Just sucks because we need every win we can get we suck lately lol.

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Mike-Gilbert/100001749589586 Mike Gilbert

    hilarious how the refs missed the interference call on one end and then try and make sure they don’t miss it on the other, but the Bulls get screwed both times…

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Mike-Gilbert/100001749589586 Mike Gilbert

    not really

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    Koufos was goaltending.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    they missed the Koufos one earlier, which was clearly goaltending. That’s where the issue is coming from.

  • speedy

    I just watched the replay again and froze the picture. When Koufos gets his hands on the ball less than one half of the ball is over the cylinder.
    It was as near to goaltending as it could be but it wasn’t goaltending.

  • Mike Mihalow

    I see what you guys are saying and agree with you. Its just an odd statement to say a team got robbed when the refs eventually made the right call (on this play).

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Junior-Taylor/100003121138419 Junior Taylor

    Just because the refs missed a call on one end doesn’t mean they should ignore a blatant basket interference call.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    i think they are insinuating that by making the call on Noah and not Koufos, that they were robbed. — even though they missed a travel earlier, that benefited Chicago.

  • The Philosopher

    Shout out to the mob…

  • spit hot fiyah

    if any part of the ball is over the cylinder it’s goaltending

  • Myk Gilburt

    Yes, really. Totally misleading, especially if you know what misleading means.

  • rufus

    “our”…are you on the team?

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Junior-Taylor/100003121138419 Junior Taylor

    It’s called the Outfit…come on now Philo, you’re better than that.

  • The Philosopher

    Chicago. That’s right. lol

  • aj

    I don’t understand how this wasn’t offensive interference???

  • bike

    Chicago-style officiating.

  • speedy

    That’s wrong.
    If there is a possibility that it goes in than it is goaltending.

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Mike-Gilbert/100001749589586 Mike Gilbert

    i guess they could of said “review of interference call” but that wouldn’t sound very good

  • Bravo

    Yo who cares they did the same BS when they faced the Raptors and Toronto never got that call!

  • Lloyd

    They made the wrong call first which means they counted the two points, giving the Bulls the win. Then they reviewed it and took the basket away, effectively taking the win away too. Giving something to someone then forcibly taking it back sounds like robbery to me.

  • Redd

    lmfaooooooo

    awesome.

  • pposse

    if any part of the ball is in the cylinder and a player touches it, its goaltending – this isn’t FIBA

  • splay

    well noah definitely interfered and it’s clearly seen on the reactions of their bench. also, the referees were correct in reviewing it but the rule book is wrong in not allowing reviews on non-calls. but I agree that they should have reviewed Koufos’ tip as well though in my opinion, it should count since the ball has no chance of going into the basket. in summary, for me the rule book is flawed and they should change it asap.

Advertisement