Wednesday, May 29th, 2013 at 3:05 pm  |  9 responses

22 Teams to Play for NBA Summer League Championship

In an effort to add some juice to the annual Las Vegas Summer League, the NBA has created a championship for the event. Twenty-two teams will vie for the title this summer in Sin City. Per the press release: “From July 12-22, 21 NBA teams and a team of NBA D-League Select players will compete for the inaugural NBA Summer League title. This year’s field includes 11 of this season’s NBA Playoff teams, along with 10 non-playoff teams, including the Cleveland Cavaliers and Washington Wizards, participants in every NBA Summer League in Las Vegas since the league’s inception in 2004. The Cavaliers and Wizards will select first and third, respectively, in the 2013 NBA Draft, which will be held in Brooklyn at Barclays Center on Thursday, June 27, 2013. The ninth NBA Summer League in Las Vegas tips off on Friday, July 12, and will conclude with a championship game on Monday, July 22. All participating teams will play a minimum of five games. After the conclusion of games on July 16, all teams will have completed three games and will be seeded for single-elimination tournament play that will lead to a champion being crowned on July 22.”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS


  • RayJr

    I watch summer league games anyways just because I love basketball, but this should add a little more spice too it. Kudos to the NBA for doing this.


    summer league has been fire the last few years

  • Joey

    Finally something the Magic can win at lol

  • Redd

    Why only 21?

  • http://reverbnation.com/ends1 ENDS


  • rkirby

    This is amazing.

  • The Mauve Avenger

    As a Magic fan, I will take what I can get.

  • http://twitter.com/Jzakoni D dot Sanchez

    wait a minute…. im confused…

  • Joey

    Same here since most of our rotation will probably be on this team