Saturday, September 21st, 2013 at 2:16 pm  |  2 responses

Mike Thibault To Win 2013 WNBA Coach of the Year

Washington Mystics head coach Mike Thibault has won the 2013 WNBA Coach of the Year award, according to the Washington Post. Thibault led Washington to their first playoff game in nine years on Thursday—a blowout road win over Atlanta. Thibault will be awarded the COY award on Saturday before Game 2 of the Eastern Conference semifinals.

“Washington’s Mike Thibault has won the WNBA coach of the year, said a person familiar with the situation.

He will receive the award Saturday night in Washington before the Mystics face Atlanta in the second game of the Eastern Conference semifinals, the person said. The person spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because no official announcement has been made.

Thibault edged Seattle’s Brian Agler and Chicago’s Pokey Chatman for the award the person said.

Thibault has won the award three times (2006 and 2008) now matching Van Chancellor for the most ever in league history. He also joined San Antonio coach Dan Hughes as the only coach to win the award with two different teams.”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: ,

  • dougnussss
  • Karisa

    I saw him basically body check one of his players and scream some really foul, derogatory language while losing when sitting behind the Mystics bench this season. My spouse and father all agreed it was one of the nastiest things we’ve seen a coach openly do in any sport. I mean, check your player, practically to the floor, and yell obscenities at her for being where she should? Absolutely disgusting. This man deserves no award if he treats his players so terribly. It should NEVER come to physicality against your team if you’re upset.