2011-12 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Courtesy of our friends at the Atlanta Tipoff Club:

ATLANTA (Nov. 7, 2011) – With 10 players from four different universities, The Southeastern Conference (SEC) leads the 2011-12 Naismith preseason watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. This year’s list includes the top men’s college basketball players from 34 schools around the country.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy will be awarded at the 2012 NCAA Men’s Final Four in New Orleans.

Two teams – UNC and Kentucky – boast four players each on the list, while three schools – Connecticut, Ohio State and Vanderbilt – each have three players. The list represents 14 different athletic conferences and features 28 upperclassmen and 22 underclassmen.

“Between conference realignments, rule changes and an incredible amount of talent at the college level this year, the 2012 Naismith Player of the Year is truly anybody’s for the taking,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. “We’re excited to be a part of such an historic year in college basketball and look forward to crowning the best player in college basketball in April.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.  

Other notable Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and last year’s winner, Jimmer Fredette. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year.

2011-12 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List:

Last First School Class Position
Abromaitis Tim Notre Dame GS F
Barnes Harrison     North Carolina SO F
Barton        Will Memphis So G
Beal        Bradley Florida Fr G
Buford       William Ohio State Sr G
Craft     Aaron Ohio State So G
Davis      Anthony Kentucky Fr F
Denmon        Marcus Missouri Sr G
Drummond      Andre Connecticut Fr C
Ezeli     Festus Vanderbilt Sr C
Gibbs      Ashton Pitt Sr G
Glover      Michael Iona Sr F
Gordon      Drew New Mexico Sr F
Green    Draymond Michigan State Sr F
Green  JaMychal Alabama Sr F
Hardaway Jr.  Tim Michigan So G
Harris      Elias Gonzaga Jr F
Henson        John North Carolina Jr F
Holloway    Tu Xavier Sr G
Hummel   Robbie Purdue Sr F
Jackson      Joe Memphis Jr G
Jenkins        John Vanderbilt So G
Johnson     Orlando UC Santa Barbara Sr G
Johnson‐Odom  Darius Marquette Sr G
Jones III       Perry Baylor So F
Jones       Terrence Kentucky So F
Jones       Kevin West Virginia Sr F
Joseph        Kris Syracuse Sr F
Kidd‐Gilchrist Michael Kentucky Fr F
Lamb      Jeremy Connecticut So G
Marshall       Kendall North Carolina So G
McCallum       Ray Detroit So G
McDermott         Doug Creighton So F
Middleton       Khris Texas A&M Jr F
Miller       Quincy Baylor Fr F
Nelson        Reeves UCLA Jr F
Nicholson      Andrew St. Bonaventure Sr F
Oriakhi        Alex Connecticut Jr C
Rivers        Austin Duke Fr G
Robinson        Thomas Kansas Jr F
Ross        Terrence Washington So G
Shurna         John Northwestern Sr F
Siva        Peyton Louisville Jr G
Smith        Joshua UCLA So C
Sullinger        Jared Ohio State So C
Taylor        Jordan Wisconsin Sr G
Taylor        Jeffery Vanderbilt Sr G/F
Teague        Marquis Kentucky Fr G
Young        Patric Florida So F/C
Zeller        Tyler North Carolina Sr F