2011 Nike Global Challenge Preview

From our friends at Position Sports:

The NIKE Global Challenge tips off for the 5th year on Friday, August 5th at Liberty High School in Hillsboro, OR. This three-day event showcases the top talents from across the world, as they compete in an eight team, twelve game tournament.

This tournament is the last series of the NIKE Elite Youth Basketball events, which have also included positional skills academies hosted by NBA stars Deron Williams, Amar’e Stoudamire, Kevin Durant and LeBron James. The top 30 US players were selected from these camps to participate in this year’s NIKE Global Challenge.

The American teams will be divided regionally into 3 elite teams; they will face the top U19 International players from Brazil, Canada, Chinese-Taipei, Germany and Puerto Rico.

Past Global Challenge alumni have included this years number one draft pick Kyrie Irving (2010), Washington Wizards star John Wall (2010), and Canadian superstar Tristan Thompson (2009). This years talents will include:

United States – West: Dominic Artis, LJ Rose, Rasheed Sulaimon, Matt Jones, Danuel House, Aaron Gordon, Brandon Ashley, Grant Jerrett, Julius Randle, Landen Lucas. East: Braxton Ogbueze, James Robinson, Cameron Biedscheid, Omar Calhoun, Ricardo Ledo, Jerami Grant, Brice Johnson, Nerlens Noel, Chris Obekpa. Midwest: Terry Rozier, Marcus Paige, Archie Goodwin, JP Tokoto, Garry Harris, Jabari Parker, Alex Poythress, Jarnell Stokes, Daniel Ochefu, Tony Parker

Brazil – Henrique Coelho, Luis Otavio Vieira, Gustavo Scaglia, Olintho Pereira, Luiz Henrique S dos Santos, Gemerson Barbosa, Cristiano Felicio, Lucas Mariano, Leonardo Meindl, Leonardo Demetrio

Canada – Kevin Zabo, Tyler Ennis, Nazareth Long, Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Dyshawn Pierre, Negus Webster-Chan, Andrew Wiggins, Anthony Bennett, Isaiah Watkins, Tanveer Bhullar, Sim Bhullar, Olivier Hanlan

Taipei – Chien Chao-Yi, Li Chia-Ching, Lee Te-Wei, Yu Chun-An, Fan Shih-En, Chen Ying-Chun, Hu Long-Mao, Cheng Tieh, Chien Wei-Ju, Hung Kang-Chiao, Lin Chih-Wei

Germany – Martin Bogdanov, Maximilian Kleber, Maodo Lo, Jonathan Maier, Maurice Pluskota, Thomas Reuter, Malik Müller, Kenneth Ogbe, Sid-Marlon Theis, Johannes Richter

Puerto Rico – Carmelo Betancourt, Miguel Cartagena, Will Martinez, Rasham Suarez, Eliel Gonzalez, Eimer Velez, Wilangel Corps Rodriguez, Dejuan Marrero, Giancarlo Santiago, Chris Ortiz, Luis Flores