2013 Bob Cousy Award Down to Five Finalists

by March 11, 2013

From our friends at the Basketball Hall of Fame:

Springfield, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the final five candidates in consideration for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award. This annual award is given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtics guard Bob Cousy. An original list of 80 candidates was trimmed down by a nationally based committee to 20, down to 10 and now five candidates remain in consideration for one of college basketball’s most prestigious awards.

“These five players truly represent the elite in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The Cousy Award screening committee has worked diligently to narrow the candidates down to just five candidates. We look forward to honoring the winner in Atlanta over Final Four Weekend.”

“All five of these players have shown a great deal of determination and leadership throughout this year’s basketball season,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “They have all separated themselves from the initial list of 80 candidates and we look forward to recognizing the winner that truly represents Bob Cousy’s work ethic and skill.”

Each of the final five candidates in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

2013 Bob Cousy Award-Final Five
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State University
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary’s College
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse University
Shane Larkin, University of Miami
Trey Burke, University of Michigan