2014 Battle 4 Atlantis Field Announced

by Bill DiFilippo / @bflip33

The Battle 4 Atlantis announced its 2014 field, which may go down as one of the most loaded preseason tournament fields in the history of college basketball.

The field will feature Florida, North Carolina, UCLA, Georgetown, Wisconsin, Butler, Oklahoma and UAB. Those teams has combined for 20 NCAA Titles and 53 Final Four appearances.

From ESPN:

There is a chance that at least five of the eight teams in next year’s field will be ranked in the preseason Associated Press Top 25.

The participants were set prior to the formation of the new Big East, meaning Georgetown and Butler will likely be put in opposite brackets. Tournaments have dealt with this in the past year. For instance, Creighton and Marquette, two other Big East teams, were put on opposite sides in last week’s Wooden Legacy tournament.

The tournament, which began in 2011 in Paradise Island, Nassau, Bahamas, has featured some of college basketball’s best teams, including UConn in 2011, Louisville and Duke in 2012 and Kansas, Iowa and Villanova in 2013.