Basketball HOF Announces 20 Finalists for 2013 Bob Cousy Award

by January 10, 2013

From our friends at the Basketball Hall of Fame:

Springfield, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. An original list of 80 candidates was trimmed down by a nationally based committee to the below list of 20.

“This list embodies 20 of the nations most elite and dominate point guards in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The Hall of Fame is honored to celebrate these feats, as we move forward to the latter stages of the selection process.”

“All 20 of these young men represent strong values of skill, determination and teamwork, all characteristics that made Mr. Cousy the iconic leader he was,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “These young men are certainly deserving of this acknowledgement. We look forward to continuing the selection process, and seeing all of the players compete for this highly respected award.”

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. These Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.

For more information:

Visit us on the web:
… on Facebook:
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA

2013 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

Jahii Carson, Arizona State University
Pierre Jackson, Baylor University
Quinn Cook, Duke University
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University
Keith Appling, Michigan State University
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State University
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Lorenzo Brown, North Carolina State University
Aaron Craft, Ohio State University
D.J. Cooper, Ohio University
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State University
Nate Wolters, South Dakota State University
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse University
Mark Lyons, University of Arizona
Ray McCallum, University of Detroit Mercy
Peyton Siva, University of Louisville
Trey Burke, University of Michigan
Andre Hollins, University of Minnesota
Phil Pressey, University of Missouri
Erick Green, Virginia Tech