Buddy Hield, Breanna Stewart Honored at College Basketball Awards

by April 11, 2016
College Basketball Awards

Another day, another National Player of the Year award for Buddy Hield and Breanna Stewart. The two were recipients of the men’s and women’s John R. Wooden Awards, given annually to the best players in America by the Los Angeles Athletic Club. Hield won his award over Malcolm Brogdon, Brice Johnson, Tyler Ulis and Denzel Valentine, while Stewart received hers over Rachel Banham, Moriah Jefferson, Kelsey Mitchell and A’ja Wilson.

The College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s, which aired Friday night on ESPN2, saw eight total trophies given out, including the two National Player of the Year winners mentioned above. Here’s the list of the six other winners:

  • John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching – Tubby Smith, Texas Tech
  • Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award – Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
  • Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award – Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
  • Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award – Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
  • Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award – Georges Niang, Iowa State
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award – Jakob Poeltl, Utah