Chauncey Billups Wins First Ever Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award

by June 09, 2013

The NBA presented Los Angeles Clippers guard Chauncey Billups with its inaugural Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award—a new annual honor given to a player selected by a panel of NBA legends “according to selfless play, on- and off-court leadership as a mentor and role model to other NBA players and his commitment and dedication to his team”—Sunday night in Miami. Billups played just 22 regular season games this season due to injury, but returned for the Clippers’ first-round Playoff series. He averaged 8.4 points and 2.2 assists per game in 2012-13, while helping guide Chris Paul and the rest of the Clips’ backcourt.

Other finalists for the award included: Jerry Stackhouse (Brooklyn Nets), Luke Walton (Cleveland Cavaliers), Andre Iguodala (Denver Nuggets), Jarrett Jack (Golden State Warriors), Roy Hibbert (Indiana Pacers), Shane Battier (Miami Heat), Roger Mason, Jr. (New Orleans Hornets), Jason Kidd (New York Knicks), Serge Ibaka (Oklahoma City Thunder), Manu Ginobili (San Antonio Spurs) and Emeka Okafor (Washington Wizards).