College Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 2014 Class

by November 25, 2013

by Bill DiFilippo / @bflip33

Five players, two coaches, two contributors and the 1963 National Championship winning team, Loyola-Chicago, were named in the College Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2014 class last night, headlined by big men Elvin Hayes and Xavier McDaniel.

Hayes and McDaniel are joined by UCLA’s Marques Johnson, Maryland’s Todd McMillan and Grambling’s Bob Hopkins. The two coaches are ex-Purdue head coach and current St. John’s assistant Gene Keady and ex-Villanova coach and current Northwood coach Rollie Massimino. The two contributors are¬†International University Sports Federation president George Killian and former coach/Nike’s director of international basketball George Raveling.

From The Sporting News:

In 1985, McDaniel was the first player in Division I history to lead the nation in both scoring and rebounding. And he was also a two-time Missouri Valley Conference player of the year before going on to a 12-year career in the NBA.

Hayes, meanwhile, was even better. Over the course of his Cougars career, he averaged 31 points and 17.2 rebounds and was a three-time All-American.

The class will be inducted on November 24 at the College Basketball Hall of Fame in Kansas City, Missouri. They make up the eighth¬†class in the Hall’s history.