Doug McDermott Wins Wooden Award and Oscar Robertson Trophy

by April 04, 2014


by Bill DiFilippo

It’s official: Doug McDermott was the best player in college basketball in 2013-14.

Creighton’s senior forward was named the winner of the Wooden Award and the Oscar Robertson Trophy today, two awards that are annually given to the best player in college basketball. The Wooden Award—named for former UCLA head coach John Wooden—is given out by the Los Angeles Athletic Club, while the Robertson Trophy is given out by the US Basketball Writer’s Association.


The Wooden Award, presented annually to the nation’s top basketball player, is selected by a ballot of nearly 1,000 voters from across the country. The Oscar Robertson Trophy is presented to the group’s annual pick as national player of the year based on regular-season performance.

McDermott becomes the first Wooden Award and USBWA national player of the year from Creighton, and was a three-time All-America selection by both organizations. On Thursday, McDermott was name the Associated Press player of the year.

“Dougie McBuckets” finished his illustrious career with 3,150 points, the fifth most in NCAA history. McDermott’s senior year was one for the ages, as he led the Blue Jays in scoring (26.9 ppg) and rebounding (7.0 rpg) for the fourth consecutive year.