Kansas Wins 10th Straight Big 12 Title

by February 25, 2014


by Bill DiFilippo / @bflip33

The Kansas Jayhawks locked up its 10th consecutive Big 12 regular-season championship last night with its 83-75 win over Oklahoma.

The win was historic, as the Jayhawks became the first team from a major conference to win at least 10 conference titles in a row since UCLA, who won 13 in a row in the 1960s and ’70s.

From University Herald:

“In a league this competitive, thought by many to be the toughest league in the country, to have a three-game lead with three to play is pretty special,” Kansas coach Bill Self said.

The last time Oklahoma won the Big 12 was 1993, but the last decade has been especially tough on Kansas’ opposition due to Self’s continually competitive teams.

“It’s so tough here for a lot of reasons,” Oklahoma coach Lon Kruger told reporters, according to the AP. “Bill does a great job, they’re very talented, the atmosphere is great, the difference really is in the runs they make, and that’s what you have to avoid. Easier said than done.”

Along with the conference championship win, the Jayhawks are working on another impressive streak: If the team makes the NCAA Tournament this year—which it will barring something crazy happening—the team will have made 25 NCAA Tournaments in a row.