Kristaps Porzingis and Kyle Lowry Highlight Second NBA Africa Game

by July 13, 2017

The first NBA Africa game was played in South Africa in 2015 and the stars are coming out for the second, including Kristaps Porzingis, Kyle Lowry, Victor Oladipo and others.

Team World won the inaugural game 101-97 over Team Africa two years ago in Johannesburg’s Ellis Park Arena, with team captains Chris Paul and Luol Deng taking home the MVP honors. Deng is back to lead Team Africa along with Thabo Sefalosha while Dirk Nowitzki and Kemba Walker will be Team World’s captains.

This year’s game is on August 5, and will be played in the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg at 5:00 pm CAT (that’s 11:00 am Eastern). Tickets are on sale at A livestream will be available at

Full rosters for the game, courtesy of the NBA:

Team Africa, comprised of players born in Africa and second-generation African players, will be led by team captains Luol Deng (Los Angeles Lakers; South Sudan) and Thabo Sefolosha (most recently with the Atlanta Hawks; Switzerland; parent from South Africa). Deng and Sefolosha will be joined by Bismack Biyombo (Orlando Magic; Democratic Republic of the Congo), Clint Capela (Houston Rockets; Switzerland; parents from Angola and Congo), Gorgui Dieng (Minnesota Timberwolves; Senegal; BWB Africa 2009), Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers; Cameroon; BWB Africa 2011)*, Serge Ibaka (Toronto Raptors; Congo), Luc Mbah a Moute (most recently with the LA Clippers; Cameroon; BWB Africa 2003), Salah Mejri (Dallas Mavericks; Tunisia), Emmanuel Mudiay (Denver Nuggets; Democratic Republic of the Congo), Victor Oladipo (Indiana Pacers; U.S.; parent from Nigeria) and Dennis Schroder (Hawks; Germany; parent from The Gambia).


Team World, comprised of players from the rest of the world, will be led by team captains Dirk Nowitzki (Mavericks; Germany) and Kemba Walker (Charlotte Hornets; U.S.). Nowitzki and Walker will be joined by Leandro Barbosa (most recently with the Phoenix Suns; Brazil), Jaylen Brown (Boston Celtics; U.S.), Wilson Chandler (Nuggets; U.S.), DeMarcus Cousins (New Orleans Pelicans; U.S.), Andre Drummond (Detroit Pistons; U.S.), Courtney Lee (New York Knicks; U.S.), Kyle Lowry (Raptors; U.S.), CJ McCollum (Portland Trail Blazers; U.S.) and Kristaps Porzingis (Knicks; Latvia).