L.A. Sparks Tie 1998 Comets for Best WNBA Start at 20-1

by July 16, 2016

The L.A. Sparks have etched their name in history on Friday, becoming just the second team to start the WNBA season with a 20-1 record. The win, however, was not easy.

Down by 16 points in the third quarter, the Sparks fought back to send the game to overtime and eventually come away with the 98-92 win.

Jantel Lavender led the way with a 25-point and 10-rebound effort.


The 1998 Houston Comets—led by Hall of Famers Cynthia Cooper-Dyke, Tina Thompson and Sheryl Swoopes—went 20-1 on the way to a 27-3 record and the championship in the WNBA’s second season.