NCAA Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championship Roster to be Revealed on Twitter

We’re only 10 days away from the Final Four in Atlanta (crazy, right?), in what should be a jam-packed, fun-filled weekend of basketball. And per the usual, the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships should be quite a show. Today, the event organizers announced that they will reveal the participants of this year’s contest via Twitter, and will do so in daily increments.

SLAM will be in Atlanta to bring you full coverage of all things Final Four, but for now, here’s some more info (plus a video preview at the bottom) of the Dunk and 3-Point Contest, from our friends at State Farm:

[March 26, 2013] CHICAGO – Participants in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships will be revealed via the event’s Twitter handle (@CollegeSlam), Intersport announced today. Beginning Wednesday, at least one participant from each of the individual events will be announced on Twitter each week day until April 3. Individual events include: Hampton Hotels Men’s 3-Point Championship, State Farm Women’s 3-Point Championship, Pepsi MAX Battle of the Champions and Denny’s Slam Dunk Championship.

The 25th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships will be held at 7 p.m. ET April 4 at McCamish Pavilion on the campus of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta. The 25th annual event, which will showcase the dunking and sharp-shooting talents of 24 of the nation’s top college basketball players, will be broadcast live on ESPN. The broadcast team includes Brad Nessler, Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes and Samantha Ponder.

One player already named to the Denny’s Slam Dunk Championship roster is High Point’s senior forward Corey Law, who won the State Farm Dark Horse Dunker competition. The State Farm Dark Horse Dunker Facebook bracket was a five-week knockout competition that began with 16 under-the-radar dunkers who had what it takes to compete against the D-I field in Atlanta. Fans determined the winner by voting during each round at the official Facebook page.


Fan involvement continues as voting via Twitter will serve as the “Fifth Judge” in the Denny’s Slam Dunk Competition. Fans can vote on every dunk by simply tweeting #CollegeSlam, followed by the player’s last name and a score between one and 10 (e.g. #CollegeSlam #Smith10). From there, an average rating will be calculated and that rating will be paired with the four celebrity judges’ scores to make up each player’s total score.

The four celebrity judges for the 2013 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are:

-Harry Douglas, wide receiver for the Atlanta Falcons;

-Julio Jones, Pro Bowler and wide receiver for the Atlanta Falcons;

-Demaryius Thomas, former Georgia Tech standout and 2013 Pro Bowl wide receiver for the Denver Broncos; and

-Roddy White, four-time Pro Bowler and All-Pro wide receiver for the Atlanta Falcons.


General admission tickets for the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are $10, a Family Four Pack is $30 and groups of 20 or more can purchase tickets for $6 per ticket. Georgia Tech season ticket holders, faculty and staff may purchase tickets for $6. Please note: seats are limited.

Additionally, a limited number of complimentary tickets are available for Georgia Tech students. Students must bring a student ID to the Georgia Tech ticket office at the west entrance of McCamish Pavilion on Monday, April 1, or Tuesday, April 2, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. ET. Complimentary tickets will be given on a first-come, first-served basis to the first 1,000 students. Limit one ticket per student.

Tickets can be purchased online at, by calling (888-832-4849) or visiting the Georgia Tech box office (150 Bobby Dodd Way NW) between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays. Doors will open at 5:30 p.m. on April 4.


Alumni of the event include Gary Payton (Oregon State), Steve Nash (UC-Santa Clara), Allan Houston (Tennessee), Bobby Hurley (Duke), Michael Finley (Wisconsin), Wes Matthews (Marquette), and Mario West (Georgia Tech). Also, six current members of the Harlem Globetrotters are alumni of this event: Kris Bruton, William Bullard, Herb Lang, Bryan Narcisse, Darnell Wilks and John Williams.

For media interested in attending the event, please contact Lauren Price at

About State Farm®:
State Farm and its affiliates are the largest provider of car insurance in the U.S. and is a leading insurer in Canada. In addition to providingauto insurance quotes, their 17,800 agents and more than 65,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts – more than 79 million auto, home, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. Commercial auto insurance, along with coverage for renters, business owners, boats and motorcycles, is also available. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 43 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit or in Canada

About Intersport

Since 1985, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports and entertainment based marketing platforms. Intersport owns and operates seven annual live television events: All-Star Football Challenge, College Home Run Derby, College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, Hockey City Classic, Women’s Basketball Tip-Off Classic and the Under Armour All-America High School Football Game. To learn more about Intersport, log on to, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.