Butler Bulldogs, Utah Utes Headline 2015 Puerto Rico Tip-Off

by July 22, 2015

This year’s Puerto Rico Tip-Off is shaping up to be one of the best in the event’s history. The eight-team field is loaded with squads from major conferences, with Butler and Utah headlining the event. It will also feature Miami (FL), Minnesota, Mississippi State, Missouri State, Temple and Texas Tech.

Both the Hurricanes and the Golden Gophers have won the event—which enters its ninth year in 2015.

The event will begin on November 19, with the championship game taking place on November 22. All games will take place in Roberto Clemente Coliseum in San Juan.

From ESPN:

Big East surprise Butler and Utah, which made the Sweet 16 last season, are the two headliners of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off and could be headed for a title-game showdown, based on matchups that multiple sources confirmed to ESPN on Tuesday night.


Butler will take on Missouri State, with Minnesota and Temple on one side of the bracket. On the other side of the bracket, Utah plays Texas Tech, and Mississippi State plays Miami. The tournament will be played Nov. 19-22 in San Juan.