Get Ready for the Windy City Showdown

by December 10, 2008

By Antonio Curro/

The 2008 NY2LA Sports Windy City Showdown will take place next Saturday, December 20th, inside the Gentile Center on the campus of Loyola University Chicago, located at 6511 N. Winthrop, Chicago, Illinois 60626.

This year’s event features many of the top prospects and programs in the Midwest. The schedule for games is as follows:

Session 1

1:00 p.m. Milwaukee (WI) Madison vs. Westchester (IL) St. Joseph’s

2:45 p.m. Racine (WI) Horlick vs. Chicago (IL) Brooks College Preparatory

4:30 p.m. Fort Wayne (IN) Bishop Luers vs. Chicago (IL) Curie

Session 2

6:45 p.m. Detroit (MI) Country Day vs. Chicago (IL) De La Salle

8:30 p.m. Indianapolis (IN) Lawrence North vs. Chicago (IL) Simeon

Some of the top prospects who are expected to play include: 2009 F Jamil Wilson (Racine Horlick), 2009 G Antwon Oliver (Racine Horlick), 2009 F Stephan Van Treese (Lawrence North), 2009 G Brandon Orange (Simeon), 2009 F Jeff Robinson (Lawrence North), 2009 PG Derek Needham (De La Salle), 2009 F Thomas King (Milwaukee Madison), 2009 F/C DaShonte Riley (Detroit Country Day), 2009 F Donnavan Kirk (Detroit Country Day), 2010 G DeAndre McCamey (St. Josephs), 2010 G/F DeShaun Thomas (Bishop Luers), 2010 PG Ray McCallum Jr. (Detroit Country Day), 2010 F Justin Martin (Lawrence North), 2010 F Dominique Ferguson (Lawrence North), 2010 G Brandon Spearman (Simeon), 2011 PG George Marshall Jr. (Brooks College Preparatory), 2011 F Keith Gray (Brooks College Preparatory), 2011 F Kevin Gray (Brooks College Preparatory), 2011 G Evan Blackmon (Bishop Luers), 2011 G Wayne Blackshear (Chicago Curie), 2011 G/F Andre Henley (De La Salle), 2011 F Mike Shaw (De La Salle), 2011 F Ryan Taylor (Lawrence North), 2011 C Michael Chandler (Lawrence North), plus many more.

Advanced tickets are on sale now online at Advance tickets are $8 per session or $12 for a day pass to all five games.

For more information, call 414.732.3245 or visit

Also note that press credentials for the event must be reserved by December 12, 2008.