Ball Up’s MDSC National Championship Bracket is Set

by July 24, 2015

Last week, teams from DC and LA clinched their spot in the Ball Up Million Dollar Summer Challenge national playoffs. And this week, teams from New York City, Philadelphia, Indianapolis and Chicago joined them to make up the final six teams in the tournament.

The National Championship bracket is all set, with the quarterfinals going down on Wednesday, July 29 (7 p.m.), the Semifinals on Thursday, July 30 (7 p.m.) and the MDSC Finals on Saturday, August 1 at 7 p.m. Check out the bracket below, and title game recaps from each of the four most recent cities to punch tickets to the playoffs:

National Championship Bracket

New York City

Sean Bell, the region’s overall No. 1 seed, capitalized early in large thanks to the post play of Kavon “Happy Feet” Lynch and the hot shooting of former DePaul guard, Cliff Clinkscales. The duo helped Sean Bell take a 28-16 lead with 6:45 remaining in the game’s first half. Team R2K/OOHWAY was able to cut the deficit to single-digits, trailing 37-28 entering half-time. The second half began with a familiar flow as Sean Bell came out firing on all cylinders. Their defense throughout the opening minutes led to a 16-point lead midway through the half. OOHWAY cut the deficit to eight with under three minutes left in the game. Clutch free-throw conversions sealed the deal in the championship win for Sean Bell. Playoff MVP Tyshawn Taylor led all scorers with 19 points, Lynch added 16 points and seven rebounds. Paris Horne scored 16 points, teammate Dwight Hardy finished with 13 points in the title loss. —Gotham Hoops

NYC - Sean Bell Championship Check Presentation


Naptown was the better team for the majority of the first half and they had a strong hold on Team Heavy. At the 5:00 minute mark that all changed when former Kentucky Wildcat Julius Mays entered the game. Mays gave Heavy new life and as a guard who can play with and without the ball; his presence was felt the moment he entered the game. With his team down seven points (27- 20) Mays hit a monster three from NBA range off a skip pass to cut the deficit to four points heading into the break. Naptown went into halftime with a 27-23 lead and felt good about the situation. At the 8:44 mark, Heavy took its first lead (39-38). By the 3:00 minute mark Heavy was up 52-46 and was slowly starting to put their stamp on this game. The six point lead started to get larger for Heavy. For the last three minutes of the ball game Heavy was able to outscore Naptown 16-9 and walked away Champions. Playoff MVP Gary McGhee was the defensive anchor for Heavy throughout these playoffs—averaging 15.5 ppg and 9 rpg. —Guy Scott

INDY - Team Heavy with Check


The last time Grimey and Danny Rumph clashed, Grimey won handedly. Grimey created a frenetic pace, and drew first blood in the championship game due to successive buckets by Hanif “Need 4 Speed” Edwards and Defensive Player of the Year, James Pope. Danny Rumph recovered and stopped the bleeding with a Semaj Inge free-throw and baseline dunk. Edwards acted as Grimey’s catalyst in the first half, pushing the pace, scoring and getting teammates involved. But later, Inge and Novar Gadson that led to a 16-3 run to put Grimey away for good. The embodiment of team play, Danny Rumph finished with five players in double-figures. Samme Givens, who was named MVP, led Danny Rumph with 19 points and 10 rebounds. Inge and Gadson added 17 and 16 respectively. —Randy Miller

Philly Championship Check Presentation


The top two teams throughout the summer would face off against one another in a rematch of opening weekend, as One Chicago and Wright Sports were on Ball Up’s center stage for the opportunity to claim big-time cash and local bragging rights in the championship game. At the end of the first half, Tony Bennett hit a spectacular shot from halfcourt to give One Chicago a 39-31 lead at the break. Wright Sports would rally back to regain the lead, as an old- fashioned, three-point play from Kevin Dillard and an Isiah Martin bucket would put them up by as many as five. But in a battle of two heavyweights, One Chicago would throw the final punch. Bennett took matters into his own hands, scoring on a finger roll layup to help cut the lead to one and buried a three-point dagger to help his team regain the lead. Behind the play of Bennett and Ellis late, One Chicago was able to cap off a marvelous season and win the ChiTown championship, 80-71. —Gavriel Wilkins

Chicago Playoff & Regular Season MVP Tony Bennett

Regular + Post-season Awards Winners

Los Angeles
Regular Season Scoring Champ: Marc Wilson, Swag Champs
Defensive Player of the Year: Keith Closs, Future Legends
Regular Season MVP: Casper Ware Jr., Cheaters
3 pt. Contest: Mike Jones, Future Legends
Dunk Contest: Michael Purdie, VBL All-Stars
Playoff MVP: Leo Lyons, Cheaters
Championship Coach: Casper Ware Sr., Cheaters

Regular Season Scoring Champ: Tre Kelly, Wiz Kids
Defensive Player of the Year: Dele Ojo, Lincoln Park
Regular Season MVP: Tre Kelly, Wiz Kids
3 pt. Contest: Maurice Creek, P.I.T.S.
Dunk Contest: Roscoe Johnson, Wiz Kids
Playoff MVP: Darryl Monroe, Team Madness
Championship Coach: Larry Bowden, Team Madness

Regular Season Scoring Champ: David Teague, Run & Gun
Defensive Player of the Year: William McClure, Running Wild
Regular Season MVP: Tyrone Anderson, Kenny Kings
3 pt. Contest: Tommy Freeman, Heavy
Dunk Contest: Keyon Millner, Blaze
Playoff MVP: Derrick McGhee
Championship Coach: Robert Pointer

Regular Season Scoring Champ: Stefhon Hannah, We Got Game
Defensive Player of the Year: Billy Baptist, Wright Sports
Regular Season MVP: Tony Bennett, One Chicago
3 pt. Contest: Stefhan Hannah, We Got Game
Dunk Contest: Karrington Ward, The Firm
Playoff MVP: Tony Bennett, One Chicago
Championship Coach: Rich Shumate, One Chicago

Regular Season Scoring Champ: Jordan Theodore, R2k OOHWAY
Defensive Player of the Year: Malik Boothe, Sean Bell All Stars
Regular Season MVP: Jordan Theodore, R2k OOHWAY
3 pt. Contest: Sean Armand, Skull Gang
Dunk Contest: Tyshawn Taylor, Sean Bell All Stars
Playoff MVP: Tyshawn Taylor, Sean Bell All Stars
Championship Coach: Rahim Wiggins, Sean Bell All Stars

Regular Season Scoring Champ: Rahlir Jefferson, 8 Eye
Regular Season MVP: Rahlir Jefferson, 8 Eye
Defensive Player of the Year: James Pope, Grimey
3 pt. Contest: Vinny Simpson, Can’t Be Denied
Dunk Contest: Jamelle Hagins, Chuck Ellis Workouts
Playoff MVP: Sammie Givens, Danny Rumph
Championship Coach: Tony Tee

Photos and recaps provided by Ball Up. See more at