Elliot Williams Leads Santa Cruz Warriors To 2015 D-League Championship (VIDEO)

by April 27, 2015

Elliot Williams scored a game-high 23 points as the Santa Cruz Warriors, Golden State’s D-League affiliate team, were crowned D-League champs after a 109-96 win over defending champion Fort Wayne Mad Ants on Sunday. It was the franchise’s first title despite making the finals in each of the last three seasons.

More from Warriors.com:

The Santa Cruz Warriors were crowned NBA D-League Champions for the first time in franchise history after defeating the Fort Wayne Mad Ants in Game 2 of the NBA D-League Finals by a score of 109-96.


The victory wraps up a 2-0 sweep for Santa Cruz as they rebounded from their previous two trips to the NBA D-League Finals, where they were swept in 2013 and 2014 by the Rio Grande Valley Vipers and these very same Fort Wayne Mad Ants, respectively.


Elliot Williams was named the NBA D-League Finals MVP and scored a game-high 23 points on 8-for-16 shooting, including 17 points in the first half. Darington Hobson (22 points and 11 rebounds), Taylor Griffin (15 points and 11 rebounds) and Golden State Warriors assignee Ognjen Kuzmic (10 points and 10 rebounds), all notched double-doubles in the clinching victory.


James Michael McAdoo, on assignment from the Golden State Warriors, came off the bench to record 21 points on 10-for-16 shooting, to go along with seven rebounds.