Sylvia Fowles Wins 2022 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

WNBA legend and recently retired Lynx center Sylvia Fowles has been named the winner of the 2022 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, per the W.

Fowles averaged 14.4 points and 9.8 rebounds this season for the Lynx, who finished 14-22, missing the playoffs. She earned the award after receiving 36 votes out of a national panel of voters consisting of 56 writers and broadcasters. Fowles is a first-time recipient of the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and the second Lynx player to win it. Teresa Edwards did it in 2004.

“Through her unwavering humility, kindness, and class, she truly has been an inspiration to teammates, coaches, staff, opposing players, fans, and community members,” Lynx coach and general manager Cheryl Reeve said of Fowles. “Her on and off-court legacy will forever live on throughout our league.”

Briann January finished second in voting with eight votes, followed by Kelsey Mitchell and Nneka Ogwumike. Ogwumike is a three-time award winner after taking it home from 2019-2021. She’s also the president of the players’ union.

Through Fowles’ 15-year career, she finished as the League’s all-time leading rebounder, a two-time champion with two Finals MVPs, a regular-season MVP, won the DPOY four times, and earned All-WNBA recognition seven times. She was also selected to 10 All-Defensive teams. To top it all off, Fowles is the WNBA’s career leader in field-goal percentage (.599).

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is given to the player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play, and integrity.

Perrot was a three-time champ for the Houston Comets during their dynastic championship run from 1997-2000. Perrot passed away in 1999 after a bout with metastasized lung cancer. The Comets dedicated their 1999 title win to Perrot, dubbing the title run “No. 3 for No. 10”. Perrot was the first player in W history to have her jersey retired after her untimely passing.