Quantcast
Tuesday, February 24th, 2009 at 9:00 am  |  73 responses

Video: Devin Harris Doesn’t Believe in Conventional Game-Winners

by Marcel Mutoni

Due to the shot leaving Devin’s hands a millisecond (if that) prior to the final buzzer, it’s a play that’ll be analyzed and debated with Zapruder-like intensity for the next few days by Sixers and Nets fans. And the Sixers even intend to call the League office about it.

All I know is that this is arguably the highlight of the season thus far:

And somewhere deep in the heart of Texas, Mark Cuban’s face is sore … from having been the receipient of numerous punches from its owner.

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , ,

  • https://twitter.com/Neuronautuk mat smith

    thats a shot, and Lang, he didnt travel because he didnt have full control of the ball.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    It’s a travel.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    Didn’t have full control of the ball? He had control of the ball from the time he took the inbound.

  • Andy

    You’re right it’s not a travel, but I think they should have called a foul. The shot should not count cause it looks like the Ball was still on his Fingertips when the red light on the sideline flashed up.

  • MalevolentKing7242

    He was fouled… That shot is clean too

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Izzo

    Eh,how is that not a travel?

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com/ TADOne

    Iggy knocked the ball out and then after Harris recovered the ball, he went right up and shot it. Not a travel.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com/ TADOne

    It was certainly close either way, though. Pretty good body control by Devin to even get a decent shot at the basket.

  • Squirrel7

    Agreed, definitely a travel. Didn’t think Harris was a big enough star to get away with the 3-steppers, like Lebron and others.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Izzo

    I’m going to have to consult the rulebook on this one…….which one does the NBA go by again?

  • riggs

    the crab shot

  • Squirrel7

    Whichever one their most marketable players want to play by……..

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com/ TADOne

    I must be blind, because I didn’t see 3 steps before the ball was knocked out, nor did I see 3 steps after he recovered the ball and then shot it.

  • http://www.twitter.com/mansonovic Andy

    As someone with no real team affiliation, I couldn’t care less, if he travelled or not. If it had been called, we’d have been robbed of one of this season’s best moments. I’m glad the shot stood. Sorry, Philly, but them’s the breaks.

  • RM

    That was not a travel at all! He took his necessary steps, got the ball knocked out of his hands (which was a foul), caught the ball again, and threw that game winning shot in.

    Unbelievable!!

  • Squirrel7

    While I do think it was a travel, I’m a big fan of Devin, so I’m glad it wasn’t chalked off. I don’t think I’ll tire of watching that shot (I think the only one I’d rather watch more is Mo Pete’s buzzer beater after Michael Ruffin through the ball in the air).

  • http://slamonline.com Lang Whitaker

    It was an amazing shot. And a walk.

  • http://sjsu.edu davidR

    there was no foul, that was devin doing his usual flop. andre barely touches the ball, and devin throws his head back like he took a straight cross from manny pacquiao. what is it about these quick guards flopping? monta, kevin martin, devin?

  • Pingback: SLAM ONLINE | » The Post Up: Harris Heave

  • Randy Brown

    I can’t see where the ball is hit. Looks to me like Harris just trying for the call. So it’s a travel then

  • Prison Mike

    He probobly would have missed the first attempt that Iggy blocked. Sometimes you gotta let those shots go if you are on defense, especially if you’re clsoe to fouling at half court.

  • http://www.myspace.com/hemantsbeats what

    Ehh… I’ve seen worse walks not being called in the middle of games. Let em play.

  • http://www.nba.com/nets/news/Game_Story_090223.html Ben Couch

    My take: The ball was loose/out-of-control, so no travel to be called. Heckuva finish.

  • iFrankie

    it was a hell of a shot none of yall could make it so quit hating

  • airs

    hows that a travel? the ball left his hands, hit dude, and then he got it back. definitely not a travel

  • josesito

    I just can’t believe the whole freaking sequence happened in less than 1.8 seconds

  • http://www.bbaxn.com Darksaber

    Lang is drunk. Ball got knocked away/he lost control of it, l then grazed iggy’s arm, Devin caught it back (new possesion) then lets it fly. No walk. Incredible way to win a game. Lucky, but utterly satisfying. Umm, why did the ref who reviewed it give the touchdown sign? Showboat.

  • http://slamonline.com Lang Whitaker

    @airs: He jumped, threw it off Iggy, caught it and landed. Then took two more steps and then shot it. Sorry, but you’re not allowed to go 15 feet without dribbling the ball. That’s a walk. I do love that Marv was on the call, though.

  • G8RS

    D Money! Don’t take that away from him with silliness about a walk. Props for a crazy buzzerbeater~just another reason to love this game.

  • http://slamonline.com Lang Whitaker

    @Darksaber: The ball did not get knocked away and he did not lose control of it — he threw it up in the air trying to draw a foul, which did not happen.

  • http://www.bbaxn.com Darksaber

    them nets sure like dramatic game winners. Vince with his alley oop reverse then the shot from deeeeep, now this? Must be a swamp thing.

  • http://www.bbaxn.com Darksaber

    Bollocks, Lang. I’m a stickler for the rules in b-ball, learned to play in europe where you really have to control your feet oncourt. I truly did not see a walk there. Ok, back to analyzing that play… Gotta see why you are being so adamant about this.

  • Todd Spehr

    Even the NBA TV ticker down the bottom had “76ers 96 Nets 95 Final” on it

  • CHE

    Travel, but great shot

  • CHE

    And they did start the clock late. This happen a few years back when Derek Fisher hit that buzzer beater with .8 seconds left on the clock. He caught the ball turned and faded away. If they would have started it as soon as he touched the ball the game would have been over. Well who said the guy who does the clock is perfect? lol

  • http://www.alllooksame.com Tarzan Cooper

    clean play game over.

  • http://www.bbl.org.uk Josh D

    1.It might have been a travel, but he was fouled.
    2.He almost certainly got it off in time
    3.Did you see that? I’ve already seen that clip played and replayed 10 times today

  • BostonBaller

    I’m not a Nets or Philly fan so I’m impartial. lol. I isolated each section and the clock started when he touched the ball inbounds so no gripe there, depending on what angle you watch it from it could have been a foul but at the very least Iggy hit the ball and Harris gather it back in and threw it up. You can not call a travel when the ball is loose or being juggled if the defender causes the juggling. He didn’t take 3 steps or even 2 once he gained “control” of the ball before he threw it up. It looks as if he got it off b4 the red light. The refs didn’t want the game to be decided on a call and get killed again. The ref threw up the “touchdown” sign signaling that it was a 3 pointer.

    youtube it to get another angle: Devon Harris Half Court Buzzer Beater Wins The Game.

    It was a nice half court make but people are acting as if it was the most amazing shot ever. I don’t get it, buzzer beaters happen all the time (w/out so much controversy, hhmmm maybe…)

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    Lang is 100 percent correct. What is the argument?

  • http://www.sprint.com/sero dma

    who cares. if either one makes the playoffs they’re gonna get swept

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    I think he got it off on time. The ball was airborne when the red light went up.

  • http://slamonline.com Lang Whitaker

    Here’s the thing: Let’s say it’s the middle of the first quarter and the Nets have the ball out of bounds at halfcourt. Devin Harris gets the ball at the top of the key, dribbles, stops and fires up a jump shot. Someone goes up and blocks the shot right back into Devin’s arms. Is he then allowed to take two more steps (without dribbling) and then shoot the ball?

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    ^Smart man.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    @Lang: Hmm, I don’t know. He shot the ball, it got blocked, he got the ball back and took two “layup steps” and got the ball off. I don’t think that’s a travel, especially cuz Harris was in motion when he took the 2 steps. It’s not like he caught the ball and THEN took 2 steps, he caught then ball while taking his first step, and took the 2nd while launching the shot. It’s a fine point and a gray area definitely, but I’m with Darksaber and the rest, I don’t think it’s a walk.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    Uhm……self pass…..discontinued dribble, does either of those make sense to you guys? It’s not 100% clear that Iggy hit the ball so if he didn’t…..it’s either one of those and that equals……..a TRAVEL.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    Ahhh. Eboy. You’re right. If Iggy blocked his shot, it isn’t a self-pass. But after reading your comment I looked it over again… it really isn’t clear whether Iggy blocked the shot, and kinda looks like Harris was doing a “drawing the foul” motion; if that’s the case, he took two dribbles, made that self-pass, took another two steps, and got it off.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    Man. I don’t think there was any contact even!

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    I know Joel…..it’s hard to tell if Iggy touched it or not……it’s a shrewd play by Dash’s part either way and a great shot, no doubt….but it still has the scent of being an illegal move by the rulebook.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    I’ve now watched it 30 times……Dash lost it on the way up and gathered again and heaved it. Iggy let him make the play and didn’t touch him.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    @Eboy: I watched it again and again too. Shrewd move, something that GP or Reggie Miller woulda done. But Iggy didn’t even touch him, you woulda seen some sorta reaction from Iggy’s hands but they were just up straight pretty much.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    So what now, is the league gonna let them get away with it? Not like it’s a big deal, but if they set the precedence on taking away something as inconsequential as Lebron’s 50 point triple double away from him, they should definitely look into this.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    I guess they can’t overrule a ref’s call…..but in last second situations, the refs should also be able to look for infractions/fouls on the play/shooter, offensivly and defensivly, as well as the shot release/beating the clock. This would have been the perfect moment for it.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    Hahaha. Zapruder-like intensity, indeed. When did the shot go off? The Dallas connection! Why did Devin Harris flinch when Iggy didn’t touch him – was there a SECOND defender hidden behind a grass knoll?

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    @Eboy: So the refs coulda just sat down and said “hold on a minute”, looked things over through like we all collectively did, and made a better decision. They shoulda done it indeed so they can get this thing down pat before playoff time.

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    But they’re not allowed to look at the periphal stuff Joel….I think they can only look at relase/clock expiration and if a player releases the ball behind the three point line.

  • http://joeloholic.wordpress.com Joel O’s

    True. Oh well, I guess? After watching it yet again I’m actually pretty sure it’s a walk. Crafty move by Harris, though… I didn’t think he had it in him.

  • j-smoov 5

    Whoa.

  • j-smoov 5

    …I think he traveled…

  • http://www.http://courtsidebasketball.blogspot.com/ stu

    @ Lang.
    You are right in that if you took two steps and shot a J, it was blocked back to you, you could not take two more steps, no bounce, towards the rim to shoot.
    HOWEVER – harris does not – noes. not. – take two steps when the ball gets back into his hands. when he recovers the ball off iggy’s arm, in one motion he controls/pushes/heaves the ball to the rim, only (and firmly) planting one foot on the ground. there wasn’t two steps with the recovered ball. there isn’t. at all. anywhere on the tape. it didn’t happen.
    So back to your example – if you took two steps and popped a J and it was blocked back to you. could you set from where you caught it and shoot it again? absolutely yes, 8 times out of 7.

  • http://www.http://courtsidebasketball.blogspot.com/ stu

    yeah.. ‘noes’.. ‘does’ would have made too much sense..

  • cp3mvp0809

    that was…beautiful *tear*

  • Mike

    @Lang
    Actually lang you could technically do that. Because if you ever watch somebody take a fastbreak pass in stride they never dribble, they just catch, take two steps and lay it in. It would however be a travel if he caught it planted, then took two steps, but harris was granted a new possession as it hit AI so while it may look like he walked, it was most definetly clean.

  • http://nba.com tealish

    ^Mike is right. If you catch the ball in motion (whether via a pass on a fastbreak or if it were blocked back to you) you’re allowed 2 steps whether you decide to dribble or not.
    If Devin was at a standstill when the ball was blocked back to him, then the 2 steps are illegal.
    -
    The only issue here is whether Iggy touched the ball. If he did, the shot’s good. If he didn’t, that’s a self pass and a travel. This is what’s hard to tell and if you can’t definitively overturn the call on the floor, you leave it be.

  • http://www.hibachi20.blogspot.com Hursty

    Harris plays for the foul, doesnt get it, the ball is bumped into Iggy (focus purely on the movement of the BALL- NOT Iggy’s arm) it then ricochetes (sp?) off Harris’s elbow (his left one) and falls into his right hand.
    It’s not a travel. He doesn’t have control of the ball AND it’s been touched by another player.
    Lang’s example is invalid as pointed out by Mike.
    Someone please tell me if they think the trajectory of the ball changes once it leaves Harris’s hands the first time. I do. It definitely moves.
    If I’m a referee, I’m letting the steps go too (and yeh I’m qualified as a 1C referee so I can make an educated judgement on it).

  • http://www.shawn-kemps-offspring.blogspot.com Eboy

    You’re also 16, Hursty.

  • sab

    wow, helluva lot of discussion when all that really needed to be said was “wow, what an amazing shot! harsh on the sixers!”
    you guys need to ENJOY life a little more!!

  • MalevolentKing7242

    peoples dont argue devin made it no walk. it was good to the lights didnt go of while in his hands

  • youngmuggsy

    Lang: you’re allowed to take two steps if you catch the ball while moving.

  • youngmuggsy

    Obviously Lang has never seen a fast break before.

  • http://www.bbaxn.com Darksaber

    told ya Lang, it was legal. Sorry.

  • http://nba.com tealish

    OK, I watched it again and clearly at 0:35 the ball stalls when it hits Iggy’s left hand at about shoulder’s height. The ball doesn’t just blimp up mid-trajectory like that. Fine observation, Hursty.

  • http://www.mynameinorange.blogspot.com Hisham

    @Darksaber, tealish, Hursty, stu and others: you are correct. @Lang&Eboy: WRONG. And Eboy, contrary to popular belief, seniority doesn’t make you a smarter or more knowledgeable person. It also does not add authority to a statement.

    @refs: great no-call. iggy’s slap at the ball seemed clean, there was no walk BECAUSE YOU ARE ALLOWED TO CATCH THE BALL IN STRIDE AND TAKE A MAXIMUM OF TWO STEPS EBOY AND LANG, and the shot was released on time.

    @myself: please realize that you are more than a day too late to participate in the discussion and no one is going to read this comment.

    o yeah nice shot devin

  • Tuomas

    I read it, mainly because I’m usually too f’n late as well. And you’re also correct on every count except for the fact that – as said above – there’s no need to even contemplate whether you can take two steps after regaining possession, since Harris took exactly one. No more, no less. Iggy touching the ball would’ve probably been more obvious from the courtside angle, but one of the refs is conveniently blocking the view.

Advertisement