Quantcast
Friday, December 30th, 2011 at 10:10 am  |  14 responses

NBA Doesn’t Agree that Dwyane Wade Traveled on Game-Winner


Dwyane Wade’s game-winning shot against the Charlotte Bobcats on Wednesday night drew the attention of a few bloggers, who accused the Miami Heat star of traveling, hilariously prompting the League to explain to the viewing public why they thought he didn’t commit a violation: “Wade banked in a short jumper with 2.9 seconds left, and the Heat held on for a 96-95 victory. Because he appeared to make an extra move forward between stopping and releasing the ball, there was speculation he should have been called for a traveling violation. But spokesman Tim Frank explains Thursday that: ‘Wade gathers the ball with his right foot on the floor, and step one is when both feet touch the floor simultaneously. He then steps with his right foot for step two.’ A video explanation of the play is posted at http://www.nba.com/official.”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , ,

  • shutup

    it looked like he shuffled, but his left foot didnt move, I guess they got this one right

  • http://nba.com/celtics lights out

    Wade is my least favorite player in the league, and I would love to be able to say that he traveled on this one, but he did not.

  • AQWORD

    The discipline towards tons of star players (Mellow, Amare , Wade , Bron , Kobe even K.D. & truly many others) travelling is pretty terrible these days so this ain’t the first, nor the last time this will happen.(& they don’t do it all the time but it’s starting to get outa hand like AND 1 a little bit) The thing is there is nothin happening towards amending it. I say if it’s questionable on a big play,(because it will happen during the dying seconds in a game 7 in the playoffs one day) let the refs action replay that ish in the little video booth & i’m sure theyl make the right call. (i’l add bron’s nas-T facial which should have counted & probably would have been one of the top facials of the year (with nbk in mind :-) ) i’m saying replay that ish & realise the mistake & learn from it.

  • LA Huey

    I like that the league responded to a controversial call.

  • LA Huey

    “let the refs action replay that ish” That’s something little kids use to play their video games with cheat codes.

  • http://dsjkflf.com Jukai

    This wasn’t a controversial call. This was just the league saying “YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT THE HELL YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT, SO RELAX OFF THE CRITICISM!”

  • LA Huey

    Jukai, controversy doesn’t have be about a topic in the gray area. Sometimes, there are just ignorant folks on one side (as in this case). I saw a lot of people claiming it was a travel in comment sections on a few different sites. Controversy is just multiple sides arguing about something.

  • Kadavour

    no travel. move on

  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4J1xRFfh1zU&feature=youtube_gdata_player nbk

    It depends If you consider the initial step before the jump stop part of his last dribble or not. Technically it was a travel. But it’s never called. So it wasn’t.

  • http://nba.com GP23

    “Step one is when both feet touch the floor simultaneously.”…
    That is the key reason why it wasn’t a travel. Fans get confused, and think think that when Wade’s feet SIMULTANEOUSLY touch the floor, that constitutes to two steps… well it doesn’t, it’s only one.
    Not a travel !

  • Ldub20

    @lights out….how in the hell can you say wade is your least fav player? I would love to know what he does or doesnt do that consitutes him to be your least fav.

    dude is an awesome player. he plays hard. he is exciting to watch. he is a great overall talent. minus his 3 point shooting…there really isnt much he cannot do…what is not to like?

  • AQWORD

    LA huey . There’s always ignorant folk on both sides.

  • TH

    It’s called a jump stop. Legal in the NBA.

    Traveling under HS and college rules, as he cannot step after landing simultaneously on both feet.

  • BuzzerBeater

    Does anyone recall the league respond to any call that was made incorrect by the refs? And if so, did they do anything about it? I’m just saying – they sure are quick to respond to something they didn’t mess up.

Advertisement