Quantcast
Monday, January 23rd, 2012 at 9:40 am  |  11 responses

NBA Admitted that Refs Blew a Key Call in Pacers/Warriors Game


The NBA continues with the recent trend of publicly admitting when its refs screw up. From the Contra Costa Times: “Here is the statement from NBA.com/official: ‘With 5.4 seconds remaining in the Indiana-Golden State game on Jan. 20, Pacers guard George Hill intentionally kicked the ball away from Warriors guard Monta Ellis during his cross over dribble. According to rule no. 10, Section IV.b, kicking the ball or striking it with any part of the leg is a violation when it is an intentional act. The officials missed the kicked ball violation which should have resulted in a deadball situation and Golden State inbounding the ball on the sideline nearest the spot of the violation.’”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , ,

  • http://www.slamonline.com Bowen’s Bowtie Collection

    So they said monta just turned it over? Did it decide the game? Details!

  • ryan

    They were down 92-91 when that happened so they should have at least gotten a chance to take the lead. But instead Indy took the ball out, GSW fouled which allowed them to extend the lead to 3. Then Steph missed a wide open three to tie it :/

  • RunNGun

    what’s new? refs are blowing calls night in and night out.

  • http://fklfs.com Jukai

    BBC: Hill slapped the ball out of Monta’s hands but it bounced off his foot. It should have been a kick ball, instead the refs didn’t see it and Hill gathered it and ran for what turned out to be the game winner.
    I think.
    Close to that, anyway.

  • ryan

    im f’n up… ^ thats exactly what happened

  • Heals

    Does anything comes across as empty as these after-the-fact, we-can’t-change-anything admissions. Great, so this means what exactly, oh yeah nothing. The officiating has been BAD this year, but we’ll never see a ref have to answer post-game questions about their calls or receive public criticism from the League about their performance (or lack thereof), until then all this BS is hallow to me…

  • marchalmadness

    @ryan, they were equal @ the moment off the foul. Not that it would make alot off difference ;)

  • http://redoftoothandclaw.ca/ niQ

    The refs pretty much channel out anything the players say in the heat of the game anyways. That’s why you don’t hear them admitting it until they say the play for themselves after the game. lol

  • http://redoftoothandclaw.ca/ niQ

    *until they see

  • EJ

    Hill’s and 1 layup was also a massive travel.

  • Yadida

    No the game was tied. Hill kicked it and ran it back for the lay up plus the foul which put them up 3. Then warriors had like a second to shoot. So yeah, it decided the game.

    @Ryan: what game were you watching?

Advertisement