Quantcast
Thursday, May 23rd, 2013 at 9:00 am  |  60 responses

Roy Hibbert Vows to Speak Up After Crunch Time Benching


by Marcel Mutoni @ marcel_mutoni

Ultimately, Indiana Pacers head coach Frank Vogel chose to live with an uncontested LeBron James drive to the hoop instead of an open, theoretical Chris Bosh jump shot.

Frank Vogel couldn’t have been more wrong.

A disbelieving Roy Hibbert helplessly watched from the bench as James and the Miami Heat stunned Indiana in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference Finals — the defending NBA champions escaped with a 103-102 overtime victory.

After the crushing loss, Hibbert said that he and the Pacers can no longer afford for him to remain silent during such crucial moments.

Per Yahoo! Sports:

“I’ve grown as a player, this is my fifth year and maybe I need to start talking up more,” Hibbert said in the losing locker room. “They pay me [max-contract money] for a reason. I didn’t say anything, and I wish I did. From now on, I need to speak up.”

… James caught the inbound pass at the end of overtime near the free-throw line and (Paul) George pushed too close to him, failing to honor the most important tenet of the moment: “We wanted LeBron to shoot a jumper right there,” George said. “I was up too close to him.” [...] “I’m 100 percent sure [Hibbert] would’ve been there,” George said.

Despite his understandable and considerable frustration with the crunch time benching, Hibbert — who finished with 19 points, 9 rebounds and 2 blocks — took some responsibility for his own poor play in spots:

“But I’m not going to put it all on coach,” Hibbert said. “I gave up some possessions, some offensive rebounds. We wouldn’t have been in that position if I had handled my business.”

Frank Vogel said that should a similar situation arise, Roy Hibbert will more than likely be on the court.

Having blown an opportunity to steal Game 1, the Indiana Pacers must get over their anger, and somehow recover from an absolutely devastating series-opening loss.

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , , , , , , ,

  • Respect

    Am i the only one who saw Sam Young just stand there and watch Lebron lay it up!?, he doesnt deserve to be in the game ANYMORE!

  • http://www.netstakeover.com/ JetSkiJohnson

    Frank Vogel does not deserve the blame.

  • shockexchange

    “The Kang” traveled on that game winning lay up. With James running to the basket while everyone anticipating him to dribble first, he would have scored regardless of who was in the game.

  • MUBWAR

    But he can’t guard Bosh at top the key. Its not vogel’s fault

  • i_ball

    I was thinking – why didn’t he try to block/foul him, maybe the refs will miss it.

  • TR

    So many factors play into this. If Ray Allen sinks both his free throws the game is over in regulation. Paul George got a call (which was deserved) that people almost never get on the road. Lastly, LeBron was getting to the bucket no matter what on that last play. He was going to score or get fouled whether Hibbert was there or not.

  • i_ball

    They could have tried a zone…

  • D_Nuggets

    My thoughts exactly! He gathered himself but then just didn’t jump. In that situation you just tackle the guy and make him earn it at the line. Flagrant foul or not doesn’t matter, the clock’s run out anyway. But if you look at it from all angles, it’s possible that Young would’ve been too late anyway.

  • http://twitter.com/stepfdelaghetto Stepfan Raiford

    Lose lose situation.

  • danpowers

    against all those 3 point shooters? not such a good idea neither

  • http://twitter.com/stepfdelaghetto Stepfan Raiford

    Calling George Hill …calling George Hill…this is your HEART calling.

  • i_ball

    You are right but I prefer a Ray Allen 3 over a LeBron lay u to beat me. And I don’t think the Heat were ready to execute against a zone. But it doesn’t matter what we think or wright here – it’s done.
    It will be interesting to see if a situation like this happens again how will the Pacers defend it

  • roger rogers

    Leaving your rim protector on the bench while losing a game to a guy getting to the rim so easily.

  • Caboose

    He did it twice. And Bron got an uncontested layup twice.

  • Caboose

    Twice.

  • bike

    Nevertheless, it was a solid, competitive game. The only thing the Pacers can come away with from that last play is do whatever it takes to keep the ball out of LeLayup’s hands. It’s tough, he’s one of the best at moving w/out the ball, but his percentage of clutch shots over the past couple of years is getting ridiculously high.

  • http://www.netstakeover.com/ JetSkiJohnson

    PG played terrible defense at the end. Why over pursue with 2 seconds left? He stayed in front of LBJ all game. Maybe Roy would have been there but it would have been a foul most likely.

  • http://basketball-performance.com/ Basketball Tips

    i wonder why all these “traveling” becomes a factor whenever a game winning shot/lay up is made. and if it’s traveling would the refs would have seen it? their eyes are on the player holding the ball most of the times. not disrespecting bro, just wondering. even Bryant gets this “he-traveled-on-that-game-winning-shot” thing.

  • shockexchange

    First of all, during crunch time, the refs like to let the players decide the game. Secondly, it’s about “risk and reward.” (i) The downside for missing a travel call is you get ridiculed on the Internet, (ii) the downside for calling “travel” during crunch time when it’s not a travel, is you never officiate another NBA game again.

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    Point to the travel. On the initial spin, he caught with both feet planted and used his right leg as the pivot. On the gather, he took the allotted steps. On those spins, you can thrust the ball in front of you to a degree, and that’s what he did to cover the ground more rapidly.

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    I looked at it again and I’m even more certain it wasn’t a travel. Right foot is the pivot. He spins, putting the ball down at the same time, it hits the floor before his right foot comes of the ground. He gathers on the left foot, takes a small step with the right foot and finishes at the rim. You can watch in slow motion on the video slam has posted. You’re off base man.

  • i_ball

    Pause it at 0:42

  • Max

    He was right.

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    Again, explain the travel. He caught with both feet planted. That means either foot can be your pivot. He chose his right foot. He spun on his right foot, threw the ball in front of him. As the ball is hitting the ground, his right foot is coming up off the floor.
    That’s not a travel, not even in Europe.
    Explain why you think it’s a travel please

  • shockexchange

    Correction: You’re only allowed 1 1/2 steps. The rule book states this. Pause the tape at the 0:30 mark. The Kang has the ball. His left foot is stationary and right foot is free, so his left foot is the pivot foot. He can’t move his left foot before a dribble. At the 0:32 mark he moves both feet prior to dribbling. By that time he’s already by George. As a bball player you are conditioned to (i) anticipate a dribble and (ii) when the guy goes in motion like that without a dribble, anticipate a whistle. That’s how George was beaten so badly.

    And watch The Kang’s body language after the winning layup. It’s not one of “elation.” He was sort of sheepish like, “I just got away with a travel.”

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    it’s a travel.
    .

    He catches the ball with his right foot off the ground. Then plants his right foot, lifts his left foot, and THEN dribbles.

    .
    This travel will never ever be called. And it is never called during the meat of games either. So it’s a travel technically, but it is not one anyone should complain about.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    Actually no. The rulebook USED to state that. It was changed 2 summers ago.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    And you are taught to never anticipate a whistle. literally.
    .
    i thought you played college basketball? how you gonna type something so stupid?

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    Thank you NBK. I remember when there was a big debate. More importantly, Shock Exchange, check out the catch. In the NBA, if you are catching and your feet are coming to rest, you can use either foot as the pivot. Players do it constantly every game.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    Shock is right that this was a travel tho. Just not for the reason that he stated.
    .
    You can take 2 steps off of a catch. But you have to use those steps to get rid of the ball. You can’t take 2 steps, or begin your second step, and then start your dribble. Even if you are on the move, that is a travel.

  • shockexchange

    The Shock Exchange is right. It was a travel because he said it was a travel. Whether you are allowed two steps or 1 1/2 steps, is irrelevant here. You are not allowed two steps then a dribble, which is what The Kang did.

  • shockexchange

    The Shock Exchange never said you are “taught” to anticipate a dribble. If a guy commits an “obvious” travel 10,000 times and you hear a whistle 10,000 times you are “conditioned” to hear a whistle, yet you still play through the whistle. The Shock Exchange didn’t see the game last night but after watching the video his first reaction was, “Where’s the whistle.” It’s very odd (in organized basketball) to (i) see a guy running in place without dribbling and then (ii) not get called for a travel.

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    Hold on, he caught, spun on his right leg, and put the ball down. This is the exact move Shaq, Duncan and Olajuwon have regularly used in the post for decades.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    His right foot is not on the ground when he catches the ball.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    yeah, it’s a travel. but not just because you say so. you have to be able to explain things. Even if you are right, explaining something like a damn buffoon makes you look like a moron. not the guy you are correcting.

  • i_ball

    Even though it was a travel I don’t think George has heard a whistle that frequently for this. The just never call it. I bet if you look at some of his drives he did the same travel.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    it’s obviously not an obvious travel. you are arguing about it with people currently. that’s how not obvious it was.

    .

    and that travel is NEVER called.

    .

    And no, George’s reaction wasn’t where’s the whistle. HAHA Way to tell us you didn’t actually see it live though, your opinion really carries a lot of weight at this point.

  • shockexchange

    It was an “obvious” travel. It’s also “obvious” that a lot people don’t understand basketball. And the Shock Exchange said on a previous thread that it’s never called. And no the Shock Exchange never said George’s reaction was “where’s the whistle.” This is at least 3 times – on this thread alone – that you’ve attributed something to the Shock Exchange that wasn’t true.

    From now on, if you don’t know what you’re talking about then just don’t address him. There are lots of people who love to argue “what color the sky is” or “you said this … but you really meant that” or “you got the travel call right, but for the wrong reasons.”

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    QUOTE: “And no the Shock Exchange never said George’s reaction was “where’s the whistle.”"

    .QUOTE: “Shock Exchange didn’t see the game last night but after watching the video his first reaction was, “Where’s the whistle.”"

    .
    You are a piece of work.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    i find you to be a complete dumbass. just for the record.

  • shockexchange

    “Shock Exchange didn’t see the game last night but after watching the video his [The Shock Exchange's] first reaction was, “Where’s the whistle.”" Hee hee …

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    When he catches at 1:41, his right foot appears to be on the ground to me.

    http://www.slamonline.com/online/media/slam-tv/2013/05/lebron-james-wins-game-1-duel-vs-paul-george-video/

  • Roger Rogers

    and then he would earn it at the stripe. Way better situation than a easy layup.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    it looks like his knee comes up to plant? or is he just tapping his heel to gain leverage? i thought he was planting, if he’s not then you are right, it’s not a travel.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    maybe if you spoke proper english people would understand what you are trying to say. using 3rd person everytime you type a sentence, maybe things would go more smoothly for you.

    .

    “From now on, if you don’t know what you’re talking about then just don’t address him.”

    .
    Assuming that means you, and not Paul George.

  • http://www.facebook.com/starkpwnsyou Joshua Maria Peter Bautista

    It was an excellent play. Vogel wanted to counter a Chris Bosh Jumper or a Dwyane Wade baseline cut because Bron wasnt known to take the game winning shot. Being he MVP though, he read that George closed out on him too much and blew past him to the rack. If Sam Young or anyone else helped on D, he would have been fouled or would pass to the now open teammate; the latter being less likely because there’s no more time. That was just a fantastic play by LeBron, and that’s coming from someone not a fan of his.

  • Shock exchang3

    East Atlanta bruh it’s an east Atlanta bag semi drop top and we exchange the shocks for some low top bags

  • Frist

    Dan where’d you go to high school?

  • EJ

    It was a Miami home game, and it’s Lebron. They’re gonna call it.

  • http://www.netstakeover.com/ JetSkiJohnson

    so its vogel fault that PG let him get to the basket?

  • LP @ThisisEther

    He lifted the plant foot before the drill.

  • chanvance22

    3-2 zone

  • underdog

    Still better than an uncontested layup.

  • i_ball

    I know. But still there is a better chance of a ref not making a call than LeBron missing a wide open lay up

  • http://twitter.com/apowellAdvocate Allen Powell II

    Here is a better look at it. You could call the way the foot slides a travel, but that is never, ever called. He catches with both feet down and then spins.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=4p3xWG3mkXE#!

    I also think that big step with the left foot, and short step with the right foot made people think travel, but it wasn’t. It was actually Bron getting his body strong to finish despite contact, which is of course amazing that he did that so quickly.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    you are completely right. the camera angle i was looking at made his right foot look elevated on the catch. but i took a screenshot of that replay, i’ll post it in just a second. It wasn’t a travel, I will now go back and stick my foot in my mouth.

  • http://www.netstakeover.com/ JetSkiJohnson

    lmao

  • Ronald

    Not surr whether LBJ travelled but you’re Wrong. It’s not 1.5 steps.

    Straight from the NBA website under “Misunderstood Rules” and in laymen terms for your convenience.

    To start a dribble after establishing a pivot foot, the ball must be released from the player’s hand before his pivot foot leaves the floor or he has committed a traveling violation. A player who receives the ball while moving is allowed a two count rhythm but must release the ball prior to the third step touching the floor. When ending his dribble a player may use a two count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting. A player who fall s to the floor while holding the ball or while coming to a stop may not gain an advantage by rolling on the floor. A player who attempts a shot may not be the first to touch the ball if it fails to touch the backboard, rim or another player. If a player comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, he may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he alights with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor. If a player has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, he may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor to shoot or pass it may not return until the ball is released. If a player jumps off one foot on the count of one he may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either return to the floor. When a player gathers the ball he may not step consecutively with the same foot, as in a hopping motion.

  • Pingback: SLAM ONLINE | » Frank Vogel Says Miami ‘More Intelligent’ vs Roy Hibbert Than the Knicks

  • A.

    Dwyane Wade? The same Dwyane Wade who had fouled out of the game would make a baseline cut? I must politely ask you to go and take a seat in a corner somewhere.

Advertisement