Quantcast
Friday, September 27th, 2013 at 9:20 am  |  19 responses

Referees Say Ray Allen Didn’t Travel on Game 6 Three-Pointer


Sorry, Rick Barry. Ray Allen did not commit a travelling violation on his legendary three to force overtime in Game 6 of the 2013 NBA Finals. So say the officiating experts. Per ESPN: “This week, the NBA referees are having their annual preseason conference at a hotel outside New York City. This is an intricate event. Plays from last season are broken down frame-by-frame, and they analyze positioning and obscure scenarios. Fans probably wouldn’t believe the level of detail that goes into this job. On Thursday, the league invited some members of the media to look at some of the work the officials have been doing and discuss minor rule changes and adjustments. One thing that came up was Allen’s huge shot. Was it or wasn’t it a travel? The answer from the best in the world was definitive: No. Barry and others feel that Allen took three steps, one more than allotted, before shooting the ball. Looking at it frame-by-frame, indeed there is some gray area there. Under league rules, a player is permitted two steps after the ‘gather.’ The subjective issue is the gather. Allen was moving backward and it appears when his hand first touched Bosh’s pass, Allen had a foot on the ground. However, under the officials’ judgment, Allen did not have possession and had not completed the ‘gather’ when that occurred. Once Allen had corralled the ball, he did indeed take another one step back behind the 3-point line and then his last step to position himself to shoot before letting the ball go. Gather while moving back, then two steps, then the shot, officials say. This opinion will probably not sway Barry and his supporters on the matter. Barry’s point has been that Allen gathered and then took three steps. [...] The ‘gather’ is arguable and will be forever. But the experts in the field, and three of them were working the game that night, say it was clean.”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , , ,

  • Louiev

    Booyah!

  • Anthony

    Let it freaking go! They one its over…smh… signed a perceived Heat ‘hater’

  • Anthony

    “won”…not “one”….(smh…too early for this isht)

  • shockexchange

    Poor Rick Barry. He gets blackballed from the L, his kids stop speaking to him and now he’s arguing with the officials. A lose-lose situation around. Now let that sink in for a second. Let it marinate.

  • Dfrance

    Some people understand “the gather” and some people do not. Rick Barry evidently does not. he must think Manu Ginobili travels on every forray to the basket because he abuses the crap out of the gather.

  • K_HOLIDAY

    LOL!

  • K_HOLIDAY

    Maybe these refs shouldve officiated the Nova game against UNC in the tourney when they called a travel on my cousin Allan Ray… That was the worst f**KING call in HISTORY!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPvhOkEVmm0

  • bike

    He is Jesus. He walks on water. Let he who is without sin…

  • Cortez Mack

    Yeah, that call was horrible.

  • RKJ92

    That sucks man.. Villanova should have won.. I actually saw that game.

  • Ryan Seavey

    Lol, i am the biggest heat hater and it was not a travel. if you go to :39 seconds on the video slam posted, it is right before Ray gets possession. His left foot is planted the entire time he has possession, and he brings his right foot back behind the line. Ray never moved his left foot when he had possession of the ball (his pivot foot) therefore, no travel.

  • http://twitter.com/niQknacks niQ

    That was the first thing I thought of while reading the blurb. Everyone who euro-steps (Manu, Wade, Harden, etc) would be called for travel if Barry was a ref lol. You don’t have full possession of the ball until the gather is completed.

  • K_HOLIDAY

    Yea man… They ended up losing by 1 I believe. Was the worst call I’ve ever seen! smh

  • K_HOLIDAY

    Horrible isnt even the word!

  • spit hot fiyah

    were is dude at these days?

  • RKJ92

    Ya they lost like 68-67 or something if memory serves correct. Deff would have pissed me off too, ESPECIALLY watching the basket drop.

  • spit hot fiyah

    i didn’t even remember that. one of the worst calls i have seen

  • K_HOLIDAY

    Yea man… that hurt…smh… I think UNC won it all that year too

  • K_HOLIDAY

    He’s overseas. Was in Germany last season. Played well out there. He’s weighing some options right now but he’s still balling overseas.

Advertisement