Quantcast
Friday, September 6th, 2013 at 2:30 pm  |  60 responses

Rick Barry Says Ray Allen Travelled on NBA Finals Game 6 Three-Pointer


Ray Allen saved the Miami Heat from certain death in Game 6 of the NBA Finals, reaching back and knocking in a monster baseline three to force overtime against the San Antonio Spurs. According to the always opinionated Hall of Famer Rick Barry, Allen’s legendary bomb shouldn’t have counted since he supposedly committed a travelling violation when setting his feet behind the line. Per Hot Hot Hoops (via PBT): “What about being more consistent with (LeBron James’) outside shot? What have you noticed about his improvement over the years? RB: ‘It’s just repetition and the fact that he has his elbow in, which I made a big deal about it a number of years ago, that’s improved his shooting form dramatically and it’s one of the reasons why he had the kind of year he had. Go look at film of him from 3 or 4 years ago, look at his elbow and look at it from last season. You’ll notice a dramatic difference. He was never going to be a good shooter, a consistent shooter, with his elbow out. He’s become a more consistent shooter and he needs to keep working on that and make sure that’s good. There’s stuff that he could do off the dribble, as great as he is, there’s nuances that I’ve learned over the years that if he was taught those things – I’ve extended that courtesy to him and I told him I’d be happy to show him some of the things I’ve learned, we’ll see if I hear from him. I’d be happy to convey that to him and try to take his game to a whole different level. That’s the scary part about it, the guy is already unbelievable as it is and the scary part is that he can be even better. You just mentioned that you think Ray Allen travelled on that corner 3 at the end of Game 6… RB: ‘There’s no question about it, just watch the replay that they showed from the overhead camera. He catches the ball with one foot down, steps back, brings the foot that he had down back to shoot the ball. That’s traveling, you can’t move your pivot foot without dribbling.’ Do you think the ref saw that and chose not to interfere with such an important moment of a championship game or did it happen so quickly Allen’s shuffle to that spot looked legit? RB: ‘It happened so quickly that the official just saw Ray doing it and he was looking down probably just to see if he got behind the three-point arc. It was a great shot, but they didn’t call it so it doesn’t matter. They got away with it, so lucky them.’”

  • Add a Comment
  • Share
  • RSS

Tags: , , ,

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    pretty amazing that Rick Barry doesn’t know the rules.

  • Jay Cutler

    Just watched it again. Picture perfect footwork even with the near undercut.

    Still the greatest shot I’ve ever seen given everything that was on the line.

  • CCT

    Dummy.

  • Stepfan Raiford

    This comment doesn’t surprise me coming from this guy who played in a wig for an entire season. Old HOF just hating.

  • shockexchange

    Gar Heard … Suns versus Celtics still #1 shot.

  • Dfrance

    Why are these old greats so bitter? You had your time, go away.

  • Shooting Guard

    These cats take 3 steps to go dunk the ball, does this really matter?

  • shockexchange

    Barry was blackballed from the L because he was such a jerk to everybody and difficult to deal with. He was one of the greatest shooters and competitors ever, yet is practically a forgotten man. That would make anyone bitter.

  • JibbsIsBallin

    That’s not traveling Barry. Quit being so damn jealous.

  • Dash Jones

    Heat won the Finals, its like 3 months old news. Even if he would’ve traveled there’s nothing u can do about it now

  • Cortez Mack

    Rick Barry is going senile.

    That was not a travel. Barry is counting the first step when the ball initially touches his right hand on the start of the catch. That’s not possession of the ball, period.

    Allen gathered the ball when only his left foot was on the ground, he then brought back his right foot, then shot the ball. 3 points in the book. Clear as day.

    …and I hate the Heat.

  • Cortez Mack

    His own kids do not even like him.

  • shockexchange

    Now let that sink in for a second … let it marinate.

  • I Know The Travel Rule Do You

    When he caught the ball his right foot was planted first. Then he took two steps back making his left foot the pivot foot. That is a travel.

    Its ignored by the NBA in almost every situation (and makes the NAB a better entertainment product as a result).

    Karl Malone used to take an extra side step by changing pivot feet to get his face up jumper off. Jordan would do a small jump to widen his stance before starting a move in face up or the post.

    Just like Allens 3 they are great plays and players but technically a travel

  • I Know The Travel Rule Do You

    *NBA not NAB – typo oops

  • Steven KC

    What a guy.

  • Zabbah

    He’s right, it is a travel. Allen took two steps to get behind the three point line.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    false. he is moving when he catches the ball. he is not standing still. so assuming the fact that he is in motion, he is granted two steps on a catch, assuming a complete stop in motion, or shot attempt follows immediately. technically, the step back is step number one (his actual pivot foot), and step number 2 is his free foot, thus allowing him to plant and shoot.
    .
    not a travel.

  • I Know The Travel Rule Do You

    Fair enough point. The rule your looking for is:

    d. A player who comes to a stop on the count of two, with one foot in advance of the other, may pivot using only the rear foot as the pivot foot.

    I guess it comes down to interpretation. Is the direction the player is traveling or the direction they are facing what determines which foot is in advance of the other?

    If its the direction he’s moving (backwards) then travel, if direction facing then legal. NBA rules don’t define so Its up to ref judgement I guess.

    I’ll stand by my comment on Jordan and Malone as examples of blatant travels giving advantage for the ‘good of the game’ though

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    thanks for posting that!
    .
    ehh, as a ref you can’t penalize a player for moving backwards on purpose. i’m sure it would be different if Ray stumbled. But as long as the direction you are moving is with purpose, a ref is going to consider that “forward” (for the sake of relating it to the written rule) and not call a travel.

  • berkamore

    Always wondered how come he never got a coaching, assistant coaching, front office or even broadcast job. He knows the game and seems like a pretty smart fellow.

    But you just gave me my answer. LOL.

  • LakeShow

    Rick Barry says he hasn’t been getting enough attention lately.

  • LakeShow

    Well said.

  • shockexchange

    He was a broadcaster a while ago. He tried to become a coach but the bosses weren’t having it.

  • K_HOLIDAY

    I feel like if he stumbled, no real possession could be established so no travel would be called either way. Could be wrong tho

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    well, possession essentially “did he catch it” — i’ve seen guys stumble and still try and turn it into a shot….eventually traveling. that’s all i was inferring.

  • K_HOLIDAY

    Ok, I kinda get what you’re saying… I dont think Ray’s play was a travel either way, but I get what you’re saying.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    Ray didn’t travel. This is not a debate lol

  • K_HOLIDAY

    I agree. D!ck Barry obviously doesnt agree with us tho lol!

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    he doesn’t understand the rules! or he just wants attention.

  • bike

    Ray Allen says Rick Barry always looked like a douche bag shooting free throws underhanded.

  • JD

    Tony Parker traveled on his Game 1 game winning shot in Miami… What’s his point?

  • berkamore

    Funny how soft skills become important as you move up towards management. But then again, Barry only has himself/his attitude to blame. His career didn’t stall because of BBall knowledge. He clearly knows the game.

  • RKJ92

    You look like Spock lol

  • danpowers

    maybe he just didnt see the replay in slow motion ;)

  • RedDragon10

    If I recall correctly, he once made a racist joke about Bill Russell while Russell was announcing.

  • http://triplejunearthed.com/dacre Dacre

    Oh its marinating….

  • http://triplejunearthed.com/dacre Dacre

    Would he be allowed to dribble also after the motion/catch phase?

  • http://triplejunearthed.com/dacre Dacre

    Not a travel…
    Point form makes it easier to explain why.
    * player to receive pass was in motion
    * first foot down is the right foot as he’s stepping backwards (IS OR ISN’T the pivot foot??) when he catches the ball. This is NOT the pivot foot…
    * second foot down is the left foot behind 3pt line. This is the pivot foot…
    * right foot comes back behind line also.
    * jumps for release of both feet.
    …….
    The pattern. The two step count also works for the euro/hop step layup. Grab a ball and replicate it with someone passing it. It will “feel right”.
    …….
    Enjoy.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    Nah. He basically gave up his right to dribble once he picked up his “planted” foot and took a step.

  • Armando

    How is this in any way bitter? He praises LeBron and at the end just points out a fact. He’s not even blaming the refs or calling it a disaster (or even a big deal).

  • Armando

    Can you explain (not criticizing, just trying to understand). To me at first it clearly looked like a travel as he is purposely moving backwards and clearly gets an advantage from taking “the extra step” (wouldn’t have gotten behind the line without it). What does it mean that you can’t penalize a player for moving backwards? Just asking.

  • http://twitter.com/sooperfadeaway nbk

    Meaning its the intent that is important. Not the direction. That wouldn’t be a travel going forward. So it shouldn’t be going backward either.

  • Evan Boland

    Jesus, i feel you.

  • chicans

    finally, someone says the truth!

  • Mrdjhiphop23

    Okay, so we’re a month away from the 2013-2014 starting and he’s just now talking about this? Why??

  • straight cake

    I dont need to give an explanation just watch the footage:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr6XsZVb-ZE

  • Ugh

    You criticise someone with his career percentage for his style? There’s a reason you’re not a successful player.

  • bill

    Rex Chapman…Suns vs. Sonics 1997.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YB0G90v5yHQ

  • f/cK outta here

    tony parker double dribbled in that game 1 shot. Ray allen was in motion of stepping back in the middle of catching the pass (not a travel…check the tape). More importantly…you really surprised the NBA didn’t call a travel after how many crab dribbles and 3 step dunks all the players do?

  • george987789

    Rick needs to get a life. he craves the spotlight and thinks this will get him some interviews.

  • King David

    he literally saved bum ass lebron from endless ridicule !

  • LP @ThisisEther

    its a joke bro….take it easy

  • jama

    it’s a fuckin travel and it’s getting tiring to see NBA refs not calling anything anymore. might as well play football

  • Zabbah

    so you’re saying he took two steps, not three. taking two steps without establishing a dribble is still a travel.

  • http://triplejunearthed.com/dacre Dacre

    Left foot never left the floor until he jumped and released the ball. Safe.

  • Pingback: SLAM ONLINE | » Referees Say Ray Allen Didn’t Travel on Game 6 Three-Pointer

  • scross

    I agree; he caught the ball when he was in the air, meaning that when ever he lands, he is entitled to 2 steps, as technically he hasn’t taken a step yet. Correct call by the referees.

  • scross

    Your allowed to take 2 steps, thats the point

  • Zabbah

    Not if you haven’t established your dribble yet.

Advertisement