1st Annual ‘Big Strick Classic’ Updates Star-Studded Rosters

The 1st Annual “Big Strick Classic” Memorial high school basketball game will be held on Saturday, August 11, 2012 at Nat Holman Gym at City College on 138th Street and Convent Avenue in Manhattan, New York. The game is a memorial to legendary streetball player John “Franchise” Strickland, featuring some of the top high school players from around the country, as Team USA, against the top players from the Tri-State area, as Team New York.

Admission to the game is free and open to the public. There will be free giveaways for fans. The game is sponsored by Bounce Apparel, Left Hand, Right Hand, LLC., The Rock Basketball, Stack Media and SLAM Magazine.

First, the players will be at Monsignor Kett Park, better known as Dyckman Park, starting at 12 p.m. on Friday, August 10, 2012, for a workout and press day which will be open to the public. The night of Friday, August 10, 2012, the players will scrimmage at Dyckman Park (previously undisclosed) starting at 6 p.m. The atmosphere will be electric at the No. 1 streetball park in New York City, with the SLAM-sponsered Dunk Contest taking place after the scrimmage.

On Saturday, August 11, 2012, before the game the players will be treated to a tour of New York City. Then they will head up to City College. The doors open at 5:30 p.m. and the admission is free. The players will also participate in a 3-point shootout sponsored by The Rock Basketball and Anaconda Sports.

The Big Strick Classic gives the New York area basketball fan a chance to see these up-and-coming stars in person. Where were you when LeBron played against Lenny Cooke? Big Strick is bringing the players to you.

SLAMonline recently previewed the event, and today we received some additional information regarding the rosters of both teams, which you can find below.


SATURDAY, AUGUST 11, 2012 @ Nat Holman Gym @ City College @ 138th St. and Convent Ave. in Manhattan, New York


Doors open @ 5:30, Game starts @ 6 PM

Updated Rosters


Tyler Ennis

Aaron Harrison Jr.

Andrew Harrison

Marcus LoVett Jr.

Malik Price-Martin

Robert Hubbs

Andrew Wiggins

Jordan Mickey

Jalen Lindsey (Newly Added)

Kevaugh Allen (Newly Added)

Greg McClinton (Newly Added)

Kadeem Lattin (Newly Added)

Kuran Iverson (Newly Added)

Coaches: Aaron Harrison Sr. & Tony McIntyre


Noah Vonleh

Troy Williams

Anthony Barber

Jarred Terrell

Terrence Samuels

Isaiah Whitehead

Jaron Sina

Emmanuel Mudiay

Chris McCullough

Adonis DelaRosa (Newly Added)

Isaiah Lewis (Newly Added)

Jordan Washington (Newly Added)

Coaches: Dwayne “Tiny” Morton & Dave Britton

Dakari Johnson and Sindarius Thornwell dropped out due to injuries.

Jabari Bird dropped out due to a scheduling conflict.

Player Selection Criteria: Players were selected using the average aggregate rankings, from the following rating authorities:

Rivals, ESPN, SLAM, Max Preps, Five-Star and Scout.com

We also looked at:

— Performance in a player’s High School Season and in AAU games

— Character and Sportsmanship

— The excitement level of a player, or what we call the “Strick Factor”