All-Rookie Teams Announced

by Ryne Nelson

The head coaches selected the ’08-09 Rookie Teams, chosing five players for the first team and five for the second team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team.

With that in mind, coaches thought much higher of Michael Beasley than did the media, which voted Beasley seventh in Rookie of the Year balloting. Teammate Mario Chalmers also got a little more love than expected, garnering five first team votes despite only three third-place media ROY votes.

Second-teammer, Kevin Love, who ranked third in the NBA in offensive rebounds (first per minute), making him, as the TWolves’ presser made clear to point out, “the first rookie to lead the League in the former category since Akeem Olaujuwon in ’84-85.” Still no word from Kevin on this honor.

Player Team First (2 pt) Second (1 Pt) Total
Derrick Rose Chicago 29 58
O.J. Mayo Memphis 29 58
Russell Westbrook Oklahoma City 24 5 53
Brook Lopez New Jersey 21 7 49
Michael Beasley Miami 17 10 44
Eric Gordon L.A. Clippers 13 13 39
Kevin Love Minnesota 7 20 34
Mario Chalmers Miami 5 19 29
Marc Gasol Memphis 2 21 25
D. J. Augustin Charlotte 17 17
Rudy Fernandez Portland 17 17
Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first team votes in parentheses): Courtney Lee 12; Jason Thompson 7; Marreese Speights 3; Greg Oden 3 (1); Robin Lopez 2 (1).

Robin Lopez has one strong friend in the media, as the single vote he received was for the first team. Not surprisingly, the only mark the brother Lopez received on the Rookie of the Year ballot was a second place vote.