Charles Jenkins Wins 3rd Consecutive Haggerty Award

Hofstra’s Charles Jenkins made history today by becoming only the third player ever to win the Haggerty Award for three straight years, joining Jim McMillian of Columbia (1968-70) and Chris Mullin of St. John’s (1983-85). The Haggerty Award is given annually to the outstanding college basketball player in the New York metropolitan area. This past season, the 6-3 guard was the sixth leading scorer in the nation, averaging 22.6 point per game. Aside from leading the CAA in scoring, his 4.7 assists per game was also the league’s best. He became Hofstra’s all-time leading scorer with 2,513 points, and was named the Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year the last two season. Many have him projected as a second round pick in June’s NBA Draft.