Rose Wins Rookie of the Year

by Ryne Nelson

Some call him DRose. Others closer to him call him “Pooh.” Recently, “veteran rookie” has been a popular catchphrase. But, now, they can just call him Rookie of the Year.

We know it’s no shocker, but just take a moment to reflect on Rose’s astounding season. Think back to the first couple weeks when most of the experts picked Derrick to finish fourth or fifth in the ROY Race. No doubt the Class of 2008 was the deepest since ’03, and Rose’s consistent and electrifying play clearly placed him as the leader from start to finish.

Upon hearing of the Bulls afternoon press conference, the Chicago Tribune officially reported the story K.C. Johnson probably wrote weeks ago.

It was obvious — and now it’s official.

The Bulls have called a 2 p.m. news conference Wednesday to announce that Derrick Rose has won the NBA’s Rookie of the Year award.

Rose is the Bulls third Rookie of the Year (joining Jordan and Brand) and is the fourth-youngest player to ever win the award. Well deserved. Congratulations, Rose!

Rookie Team 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Derrick Rose Chicago 111 5 4 574
O.J. Mayo Memphis 5 64 29 246
Brook Lopez New Jersey 2 28 33 127
Russell Westbrook Oklahoma City 2 13 24 73
Eric Gordon L.A. Clippers 4 10 22
Kevin Love Minnesota 2 10 16
Michael Beasley Miami 2 1 7
Marc Gasol Memphis 1 1 4
Robin Lopez Phoenix 1 3
Rudy Fernandez Portland 3 3
Mario Chalmers Miami 2 2
Courtney Lee Orlando 2 2
Nicolas Batum Portland 1 1