Maya Moore, Skylar Diggins, Shoni Schimmel Headline WNBA All-Star Starters

by July 09, 2014

Starting lineups for the 2014 WNBA All-Star Game were announced Tuesday night. Minnesota forward Maya Moore led all players in total votes, while sophomore standouts Skylar Diggins and Brittney Griner were also voted to start for the Western Conference.

Elena Delle Donne led all Eastern Conference vote-getters for the second year in a row, but may not play in the All-Star game due to complications with Lyme Disease. Indiana forward Tamika Catchings will be making her ninth All-Star appearance despite having played just two games this season. Atlanta rookie Shoni Schimmel finished third overall in total votes despite averaging just 7.8 points this season.

Here’s how the final balloting played out:





Guards: Shoni Schimmel (Atl) 25,601; Cappie Pondexter (NY) 10,104; Ivory Latta (Was) 9,932; Briann January (Ind) 8,717; Courtney Vandersloot (Chi) 7,504


Frontcourt: Elena Delle Donne (Chi) 26,129; Angel McCoughtry (Atl) 17,562; Tamika Catchings (Ind) 13,939; Erika de Souza (Atl) 12,859; Chiney Ogwumike (Con) 11,980




Guards: Diana Taurasi (Phx) 19,404; Skylar Diggins (Tul) 17,937; Seimone Augustus (Minn) 16,143; Lindsay Whalen (Minn) 13,691; Sue Bird (Sea) 8,210


Frontcourt: Maya Moore (Minn) 28,389; Candace Parker (LA) 23,555; Brittney Griner (Phx) 18,432; Nneka Ogwumike (LA) 10,697; Kayla McBride (SA) 10,192

Reserves will be announced on July 15 at 8 p.m. EST on ESPN2. The 2014 WNBA All-Star Game will take place in Phoenix on July 19 at 3:30 p.m. EST on ESPN.