Morgan Wooten Player of the Year Finalists Announced

From our friends at the McDonald’s All American Games:

The McDonald’s All American Games just announced the Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Finalists via @McDAAG.

The list of deserving players includes:

o   Aaron Gordon, Archbishop Mitty (San Jose, CA)
o   Aaron Harrison, William B. Travis (Richmond, TX)
o   Andrew Harrison, William B. Travis (Richmond, TX)
o   Dakari Johnson, Montverde Academy, FL (New York, NY)
o   Jabari Parker, Simeon Career Academy (Chicago, IL)
o   Andrew Wiggins, Huntington Prep, WV (Thornhill, ON)

o   Lexie Brown, North Gwinnet (Suwanee, GA)
o   Kaela Davis, Buford High School (Buford, GA)
o   Diamond DeShields, Norcross (Norcross, GA)
o   Linnae Harper, Whitney Young (Chicago, IL)
o   Taya Reimer, Hamilton Southeastern (Fishers, IN)
o   Mercedes Russell, Springfield High (Springfield, OR)

Each year, the Morgan Wootten Player of the Year (POY) Award recognizes the nation’s top male and female player who demonstrates outstanding character, exhibits leadership, and embodies the values of being a student-athlete in both schoolwork and community affairs. Previous award winners include Shane Battier (1997), Jay Williams (1999), Candace Parker (2004) and Austin Rivers (2011), among others.

For more information on these players, including detailed biographies visit

Player of the Year Winners will be announced on Monday, March 18. A special event will be held at the nation’s largest Ronald McDonald House in Chicago to honor our winners. As a reminder, the 2013 McDonald’s All American Games will tip-off on Wednesday, April 3 from Chicago’s United Center, with net proceeds benefiting Ronald McDonald House Charities.