New York Gauchos to Host Benefit Gala Next Wednesday in NYC

On Wednesday, October 10, 2012, Teamwork Foundation Inc. will host their 8th Annual Gala fundraiser benefiting the New York Gauchos youth basketball program.

Held at the spacious Prince George Ballroom (located at 15 East 27th Street), the gala’s annual fundraising goal is $150,000. For the last 8 years, Teamwork—a non-profit organization—has placed money into the coffers of the NY Gauchos to support the yearly upkeep and building expenses of the gymnasium. Gauchos Gym, located at 478 Gerard Avenue in the Bronx, has served as a safe-haven for kids of the South Bronx and Harlem since 1987.

The Gauchos will commemorate their 45th anniversary of community service with a very special Gauchos Hall of Fame induction ceremony, honoring former member and NBA Hall-of-Famer Chris Mullin. Mullin, who currently works as an analyst for ESPN, is a retired NBA All–Star, former General Manager of the Golden State Warriors and two-time Olympic Gold medalist.

The program will also honor Tom Konchalski, editor and publisher of the HSBI Report, with the New York City Basketball Award of Recognition. The award acknowledges Konchalski’s commitment to excellence covering the high school recruiting scene.

ESPN Analyst Stephen A. Smith is scheduled as the Keynote Speaker for the momentous night. Other special guest speakers for the gala include New York City’s Council Woman Maria del Carmen Arroyo, and The Bronx Chamber of Commence Chairman Joe Kelleher. A special video presentation of the new Ardsley New York House of Sports facility will be made by Donald Scherer, CEO of the House of Sports program.

The New York Gauchos continue to help hundreds of inner-city kids achieve a college education through their elite basketball program. Each year, the Gauchos provide high-level competitive AAU basketball service to more than 500 boys and girls who live in under-served neighborhoods of New York City. Notable NBA alumni of the Gauchos include: Chris Mullin, Kemba Walker, Taj Gibson, Doron Lamb, Felipe Lopez, Ed Pinckney, Stephon Marbury, Kenny Anderson, Dwayne “Pearl” Washington, Mark Jackson, Jamal Mashburn, Sundiata Gaines, David Britton, David Cane and Jerry Ice Reynolds.

Tickets for the 8th Annual Gala are priced at $300, and table sponsorships are priced at $4,000.

To purchase tickets, and for more information, click here.