Video: Amar’e Stoudemire Has Been ‘Extinguished from the Game’

by May 10, 2012

UPDATE: For some reason, the Miami Heat felt it necessary to apologize for this. Here’s their statement: “Last night at our game, our PA Announcer had a momentary lapse of judgement and used a poor choice of words in describing Amare Stoudemire’s fouling out of the game. This is not who we are as an organization or who he is as an announcer. Both the Miami Heat and Michael Baiamonte apologize to Amar’e and the New York Knicks for the inappropriate choice of words.’”

There were a couple of funny and equally depressing moments in Amar’e Stoudemire’s final game of the season last night. He bowled over Shane Battier for his sixth foul, and then took away his hand after pretending that he’d help Battier get back on his feet. As STAT left the court, the in-house PA guy took a not-so-subtle dig at the injury Stoudemire inflicted on himself following Game 2.

(h/t: TBJ)