Finalists Announced for 3 Major College Basketball Awards

by February 27, 2014


by Bill DiFilippo / @bflip33

The finalists for three of the biggest college basketball awards have been announced.

The US Basketball Writers Association released its list of players and coaches nominated for the Oscar Robertson Trophy (Player of the Year), Wayman Tisdale Award (Freshman of the Year) and Henry Iba Award (Coach of the Year). They are:

Oscar Robertson Trophy:

• Kyle Anderson, UCLA
• Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico
• Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
• Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
• Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
• C.J. Fair, Syracuse
• Nick Johnson, Arizona
• Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
• Doug McDermott, Creighton
• Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
• Jabari Parker, Duke
• Casey Prather, Florida
• Julius Randle, Kentucky
• Russ Smith, Louisville
• Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Wayman Tisdale Award:

• Joel Embiid, Kansas
• Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
• Aaron Gordon, Arizona
• Jabari Parker, Duke
• Julius Randle, Kentucky
• Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Henry Iba Award:

• John Beilein, Michigan
• Tony Bennett, Virginia
• Larry Brown, SMU
• Jim Crews, Saint Louis
• Mick Cronin, Cincinnati
• Billy Donovan, Florida
• Steve Fisher, San Diego State
• Gregg Marshall, Wichita State
• Greg McDermott, Creighton
• Jay Wright, Villanova

The winners of all three awards will be announced on Monday, April 14, in Oklahoma City.