NBA Says Gasol Didn’t Goaltend in Game 2

by June 09, 2009

So, you know, quit your whining: “For the answer, turn to Page 39 of the 2008-09 Official Rules of the National Basketball Association. Rule No. 11, Section I, Article H states that a player will not ‘vibrate the rim, net or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce, or bend or move the rim to an off-center position when the ball is touching the ring or passing through. By not calling goaltending, referees determined that Gasol’s action didn’t vibrate the goal to such a degree that it caused ‘an unnatural bounce.’…Bernie Fryer, NBA director of officials, told the Los Angeles Times that no call was the correct call, because Gasol didn’t alter the flight of the ball.”