Deadline For All Non-Guaranteed Contracts Looms

by January 07, 2020
Christian Wood of the Detroit Pistons

Update #1, 7:30pm: While it wouldn’t be unheard of for some late news to trickle in, it appears as though 23 of the 24 players on non-guaranteed pacts will lock in for the remainder of the season. I’ve documented tweets and stories where beatwriters confirmed that individuals were retained, the remainder are presumed.

Today is the day that NBA players on non-guaranteed deals learn their fate. For some, like Miami Heat starters Kendrick Nunn and Duncan Robinson, the milestone is a mere formality. For others, the day can mark the end of an era.

Technically speaking, any player on a non-guaranteed pact that remains on a roster after 5 pm EST on Jan. 7 has their contract effectively guaranteed for the remainder of the season because they won’t be able to clear waivers prior to Jan. 10. Prior to today, teams had the liberty of waiving players and minimizing the cap hit accrued on their payroll.

Late last night the Golden State Warriors opted to part ways with promising young forward Marquese Chriss in an attempt to limbo under the tax apron. The Cleveland Cavaliers, too, took the opportunity to waive a player that’s become somewhat of a familiar face over the years when they released Alfonzo McKinnie.

In the majority of cases, players squeezed out of a situation at the guarantee deadline are the victims of financial circumstance. Especially in situations where teams are near or over the luxury tax, shedding part of an expendable player’s contract can be highly impactful.

Javonte GreenBOSRetained
Caleb MartinCHA
Jalen McDanielsCHA
Shaquille HarrisonCHI
Christian WoodDET
Gary ClarkHOUWaived
Isaiah HartensteinHOURetained
Ben McLemoreHOURetained
Derrick Walton Jr.LACRetained
Dwight HowardLALRetained
Bruno CabocloMEMRetained
Kendrick NunnMIARetained
Duncan RobinsonMIARetained
Dragan BenderMILRetained
Jahlil OkaforNOPRetained
Justin PattonOKC
Amile JeffersonORL
Trey BurkePHIRetained
Wenyen GabrielSAC
Dewan HernandezTOR
Juwan MorganUTA
Georges NiangUTA
Royce O’NealeUTA
Gary Payton IIWAS